Solo Traveler #103: Catrice HD Liquid Coverage Foundation

In June, I picked out a full coverage foundation from Catrice in my Ulta haul. It claims to be 24-hour coverage mattifying foundation.

After 6 weeks of off and on use, I have mixed feelings about those claims.

19451613_10101073057272989_153840714_oI paid full price, $10.99 ($10.88/oz), for this foundation in a B2G1 free sale. I got this with a matching concealer and mattifying pressed powder. The concealer ended up being my free item. Since I paid full price for the foundation, I couldn’t count it as an actual sale item. I gave it half credit instead since it was part of a sale but not on sale.

When I opened it for the first time, I realized it was not a “normal” foundation in that it is a drop foundation with a squeezy dropper thing. That was… different. I expected a mess because the formula is super thin and the dropper is alien to me but it honestly hasn’t been a big deal. Score. It smells weird though so the good vs. bad kind of canceled itself out.

Overall, this foundation scored a 80. It is good for the price but I definitely have better foundations in my collection. It isn’t full coverage like it claims, for sure. I am certain this is because of how thin the product is. I tried shaking it but that really didn’t change the texture. I guess it needs to be thin because of the dropper. I haven’t tried building coverage with this. My experiences with trying to build foundation coverage has always been a cakey disaster. I’m especially leery of trying to build coverage with a mattifying foundation. I do think this product lives up to the mattifying claims. I am an oily mess by lunch time most days and this product holds up well.

I’ve been using this on days that I want more coverage than a BB cream but since it is summer, I really don’t want heavy face makeup. Ultimately, that has worked out for me. But I have a feeling this isn’t going to work out quite as well with winter when I’m going to want full coverage to combat the wind and cold damage I always endure.

❤ Dee

2 thoughts on “Solo Traveler #103: Catrice HD Liquid Coverage Foundation

  1. I need a really liquid foundation that is medium coverage so I might try this out! Great post, it’d mean a lot if you checked my blog out too x

    Like

    • If you want medium coverage, then I definitely suggest giving this one a shot. It is affordable so if you hate it, it isn’t as big of a heartbreak! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

