Body Goals

When I started working out, I didn’t really have any goals. I just started because I know I need to get healthy and Mom needs to workout to meet her doctor’s orders.

So many people start a fitness journey focused on weight. However, I find weight to be an invaluable measurement tool in short term standards. It is such a highly variable number on the daily and weight standards vary based on height, body shape, and bone structure/density. Oh and where you live. Weight standards in America are vastly different from the weight standards of say Italy or China. Over time, I accept that a person’s weight does have value but in short term, I find it to be suspect.

According to the US National Institute of Health, my current BMI (weight x height) is 33.2 which puts me in the obese category. I find that to be overwhelmingly inaccurate. I’m overweight for sure. And I’ve been obese. But I’m not obese at my current 170 pounds. To be the ideal BMI (the average of 18.5-24.9 BMI which is 21.7), I would need to be 111 pounds. That is simply unrealistic for a woman of my frame size with a curvy body type. I have naturally large breasts and wide hips. It is a thing. Thankfully, my doctor is also a realistic person. She hates those BMI charts and has the same opinion on daily weight values as I do. My general practitioner is lovely and knowledgeable. She lectured me about quitting smoking (standard), took my weight and a few measurements with calipers and tape, and made the following observations:

  • I have a large frame shape that I cannot ever change.
  • I have a curvy body shape that I can moderately change but ultimately cannot change in demonstrable ways. I am currently a 40D bra size. I might be able to get down to a 36C eventually but I’ll always be on the big boob spectrum outside of a breast reduction.
  • A regular body weight of 125-130 pounds is ideal for me depending on muscle mass. 111 pounds will never be realistic if I hope to retain muscle mass. I definitely have too much body fat but it is disproportionate throughout my body. Most of my “fat” weight is in my chubby belly, large breasts, and thick thighs. Typical of someone with a high stress sedentary lifestyle.
  • I need to eat a diet high in protein/fiber, moderate in carbs/fats, and low in sugar. Because of my hormone issues, I’m also supposed to avoid anything with added hormone supplements like any and all meats, dairy, and eggs that aren’t organic. And things with natural occurring hormones like soy. If I followed this, I’m not sure what I could eat, honestly. Probably just carrots. lol

After my doctor visit, I took stock of my body. At the time, I was in a 42DD bra. I had just 20369484_10101119257153059_4916463695101632646_ohad a bra fitting so that was accurate. In shirts, XL was fairly tight so I probably should have been wearing 1X. Most of my pants were 16s, with a few variable brands sitting at 14 or 18. And I was wearing slightly baggy 9s or comfortably fitting 8s in panties.

I posted last week that all of those sizes have changed in the last 2 months. I’m in a 38/40D bra, L shirts (tight but okay fit), mostly 12/14 pants, and 6/7s panties now. None of that has changed in a week. lol The picture on the left is from when I was on my cruise in May, back around the time of my doctor’s visit. The picture on the right was from yesterday. Same shirt. Big difference.

I’m going to take my doctor’s advice and forget BMI. I’m not even going to continue to look at those stupid charts. If I only focus on watching that stupid BMI number go down, I’m never going to keep going. It only went down 1 point in 2 months! I’d give up. Instead, I’m going to set goals related to results.

  • Short Term Goals between now and the end of the year:
    • My goal weight is 160 pounds. Ick.
    • Eat better nutritional content and portion sizes.
    • In clothing, 38 C/D bra, loose fitting L shirt, 10/12 pant, solid 6 panty.
    • Go to the gym at least 3 days a week.

After December, I’ll reevaluate those short term goals and make them closer to my long term goals.

  • Long Term Goals for life:
    • Following my doctor’s advice, my goal weight is 125 pounds eventually.
    • Eat according to my nutritional needs with appropriate portion sizes.
    • In clothing, 36C bra, nice fitting M shirt, 6/8 pant, 5/6 panty.
    • Go to the gym 4-5 days a week.

Based on my current progress, I think my short term goals are do-able. I’m skeptical of a 10 pound weight loss by December (hello Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners) but we shall see. I still have a lot of improvement to make in my diet but I refuse to pay so much money for organic beef/chicken. I’ve already cut back sugar by a lot and started paying attention to protein content but I’m not doing appropriate portion sizes or looking at fat/carb content so there is room for improvement there. 7 more weeks and I’ll check my measurements again. Until then, I’ll be over here in increasingly saggy pants and baggy shirts. 😀

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

