Facial Moisturizer

I have tried so many drug store facial moisturizers. So many. I can’t make myself to spend much more than $10-15 on a moisturizer yet. It feels so gratuitous despite knowing that it is a crucial element of my skin care routine.

In the beginning, I didn’t know there was a difference between body lotion and facial moisturizer. So I was using an Equate Dry Skin body lotion for my face. That did not go well. I switched to an Equate Facial Moisturizer with SPF. It was okay moisture wise but it aggravated my sensitive skin. I tried the name brand version of it to see if that was the difference. I think it was Neutrogena. Nope, no difference.

Since then, I’ve tried Jergens, Olay, Ponds, Clean & Clear, Garnier, St. Ives, Cetaphil, Formula 10.0.6, ELF, and others that I’ve forgotten. I sprung for a Sephora brand and got a Privai sample from Ipsy. I’ve tried ones formulated for sensitive skin, ones with SPF and without it, collagen type, and mattifying moisturizers. I think in all, I’ve tried around 30 of them. They all work in varying degrees.

I have found that for most brands, I do have to use ones that are formulated for sensitive skin without fragrance. Otherwise, I break out. *sigh*

I have found a few exceptions to this. The Sephora mattifying moisturizer did not break me out. But it did nothing for oil control and I didn’t feel particularly hydrated after using it for a week. The Privai mattifying moisturizer is amazing despite the grapefruit scent that I loved but assumed would break me out. I’m not in the market for a $30/oz moisturizer though. The Formula 10.0.6 mattifying moisturizer works similarly to the Privai moisturizer, just without the delightful scent (I love citrus) but also has aloe for redness which the Privai seems to lack. Finally, I found that while the St. Ives collagen moisturizer is contributing to my oily skin during the day, it works amazing when cut with some kind of sunscreen for no-makeup days or as a night time moisturizer.

Currently, my go-to is:

  • my DIY SPF moisturizer with St. Ives collagen moisturizer and sunscreen on no-makeup days that I haven’t been to the gym in the morning,
  • Ponds on makeup days,
  • Formula 10.0.6 mattifying moisturizer on no-makeup or very little makeup days after going to the gym in the morning, and
  • St. Ives collagen moisturizer every night.

How many tries did it take you to find your best moisturizer?

❤ Dee

2 thoughts on “Facial Moisturizer

  1. It took a long time for me to find a moisturizer that works well for me, but I really love my Caudalie Vinosource moisturizer. It makes my skin smooth and moisturized without making me feel oily and greasy. Thanks for sharing your moisturizer journey with us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

