Exfoliators Or The Lack There Of

If you are new here, let me just put this out here: My skin is a problem. I have sensitive skin so a lot of chemicals not only cause minor breakouts but can cause hives. Most irritants (think chemical peels and harsh exfoliators) I also have rosacea which for me shows as persistent redness on my cheeks, forehead, and chest. I don’t get whiteheads very often at all. Blackheads are a different matter – I get those on my nose, chin, and on my upper lip line. Oh and I have oily skin too. 😀

To deal with the blackheads and dull skin resulting from a combination of my oily skin, regular use of makeup, and smoking, the best plan of action is logically to exfoliate 2-3 times per week. But wait! I can’t exfoliate. I either get a major rosacea flair from the irritating nature of the exfoliant. Or I get hives from my sensitive skin. Or sometimes both. Fun!

I deal with this in the following ways:

Daily – I use a slightly textured wash cloth to exfoliate my face after I wash my face. I pay special attention to my nose, chin, and upper lip. I get run it under super hot water and let it really sink in. I squeeze the excess water out then lay the wet cloth over my face until it isn’t hot anymore. Then I rub it in circular motions gently over my face.

2-3 times per week – I use my Ulta Cleansing Brush, a knock off of the Clarsonic Spin Brush, to exfoliate my face with the regular bristle head. I use The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash. After wetting my face with warm water (because this is almost always used when I take a shower), I run the spinning brush head from my forehead down to my chest. I use slow back-and-forth motions while the head spins, careful not to get my hair in the brush and to keep the cleanser out of my eyes. I am mindful not to push the brush against my face, to just let it glide over the skin.

CaptureOnce a month – I bite the bullet and use a real exfoliant and try to be as gentle as possible on my forehead and cheeks. I avoid rubbing any exfoliant onto my chest. I’ve found that The Body Shop 3-in-1 Wash Scrub Mask is gentle enough that it doesn’t cause too much of a rosacea flair so long as I follow it immediately with some kind of soothing toner. Even better, it doesn’t get a reaction from my sensitive skin.

I’m too much of a chicken to try that 3-in-1 more than once a month. I’ve finally gotten my redness mostly under control and I don’t want to rock that boat too much. Thankfully, with it being summer, I don’t see my skin being dull as much as I do in the winter when everything gets chapped. Now that I have found an exfoliator that mostly works out okay, I may have to increase this routine to twice a month and see how it works out.

How do you exfoliate?

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

