Solo Traveler #101: IT Cosmetics Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara

My May Ipsy bag contained a sample of IT Cosmetics Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara in black. This retails for $24.00 ($80.00/oz). I gave this a score of 19.

18554115_10101034279483989_557193419_o

This is a good mascara. I really like what it does to my lashes. It thickens them, separates them, gives them great dark color, and lengthens them without making them look cartoonish. The brush is great too. All good things.

It is a little smelly though. And it can clump if you aren’t careful applying more than 1 coat.

Here is where my biggest issue comes in with this mascara… While this isn’t the most expensive per ounce mascara, it is in the top 5 (tied for #5 with Benefit’s They’re Real mascara). When there are mascaras out there under $5 that work as well as the Essence mascaras I’ve tried, I get a bit irritated by these high-priced mascaras. I love my Perversion mascara but I have a hard time validating a repurchase of that $20 mascara. I am having the same issue with this mascara.

I am enjoying using this sample but I really can’t validate purchasing a retail size of it. I can’t get beyond that price point.

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

