Solo Traveler #95: Essence Waterproof Gel Eye Pencil

For my April Ulta haul, I needed $2 more to get free shipping so I grabbed an Essence Waterproof Gel Eye Pencil in blue lagoon for $2.99 ($149.50/oz). This eyeliner scored a 23! Woo!

18052348_10101006298592919_726710209_oI have never tried a gel eyeliner crayon before so this was a new one. I wasn’t sure how different it would apply compared to a regular crayon. To my surprise, it applied easier than a regular wax crayon. I’m definitely okay with that.

This is a roll up crayon in a bright shimmery blue. And I have given it a workout. I wear it on my water line about 3 times a week. It doesn’t smell, it lasts forever, it really is waterproof like the brand claims, and the color is vibrant. I am definitely in love with color on my lower lash line for the spring/summer months thanks to this eyeliner.

If I had to say anything negative, I think my only complaint would be that it doesn’t have a sharpener. I mean, not many eyeliners have them. I have been using a sharpener from another eyeliner and figured out quickly that this gel sharpens differently than the wax. I have to be careful sharpening it and it doesn’t clean out of the sharpener very well at all.

My eye makeup remover has been getting a workout with this eyeliner. Normally, I can use one pad to take off almost all of my eye makeup. I use a 2nd just to make sure it is all gone. While wearing this eyeliner, I have to get a 3rd and sometimes a 4th pad to get all of it gone. I’m not crazy about that as I am more likely to pull out eyelashes with the more I fuss with my eyes. However, being careful is key. And laying a warm, wet rag over my eyes for 5 minutes before the makeup remover is helpful too.

I will certainly be trying more gel eyeliners in bright colors!

❤ Dee

One thought on “Solo Traveler #95: Essence Waterproof Gel Eye Pencil

Leave a Reply

