Vacation Day 3 and 4

Day 3 of vacation found me with a problem right out the gate. I got a ride from Uber from my hotel in Orlando to Cape Canaveral to get to my cruise ship. I called the driver to let him know that the app had my pickup address wrong by about 100 numbers (3400 instead of 3300). When he answered, the first thing he said was “Sorry but I don’t speak English.” Ooooh, that’s a problem because I don’t speak Spanish.

Thankfully, I was able to find a bilingual employee that got him to the hotel and told him where I was going. The rest of the day was fairly uneventful. I made it to the cruise line check in, got my account set up, got to my room, chilled on the deck for a while, and met my dinner companions. In all, it was a great start to my cruise! The best part? I couldn’t tell I was on a freaking ship, even when I was on an open deck!

Day 4 was a lot of activity. I got to visit my first island! We anchored near Cococay, Bahamas in the early morning and had to take little boats to shore. I got on the island around 9am and wandered by myself through the shops and around the beach for a couple hours. I bought some souvenirs for the girls. I found myself a pineapple that magically had rum in it (hehe). Then I ran into my 5 dinner companions from Day 3 and the 2 that had rented a cabana invited the rest of us to come hang out there for a while.

The cabana area was stunning. Definitely worth the money if you can split the cost with a few people. Unfortunately, while the beach looked incredible, it wasn’t. We thought we had deep water about 10 feet out from the dry sand. Nope. It was a bed of seaweed that not only was incredibly squishy (I sunk in up to my knees – I don’t even want to think about what I could have accidentally stepped on), but it also smelled like sewage. Gag!

We abandoned that part of the beach quite quickly and went to a sand bar about 100 yards away from the private cabana area. That area was clean and not full of squishy smelly stuff. There were fish all over the sand bar since the water was about 3-6″ deep through it all. Mostly white/clear looking fish. We found a few different conch, sea cucumbers in mass numbers, a single living sand dollar, and a few small crabs. By mid-day, I was exhausted and sunburned. I hadn’t planned on getting in the water so I was wearing capris and a t-shirt so those were soaked. I called it a day and everyone else followed about an hour later.

While heading back to the ship, I spotted some wildlife. Really aggressive sea birds were pretty much expected. What I didn’t expect were chickens, iguanas, and a peacock! At the end of the day, I was very happy to have a gourmet dinner in the dinning hall and go to sleep.

I will return in a few days to talk about Day 5 (Nassau, Bahamas) and Day 6 (all cruising). 😀

Leave a Reply

