In the Bag #20: May Ipsy and Morphe + Special Purchase

Ya’ll this In the Bag is easily the largest haul (dollar wise) of Stuff In a Powder Puff’s career. I doubt I’ll ever have such a massive haul ever again unless I decide to haul when I eventually buy my Great Dane or a new (to me) car. 😀

First up, per usual, Ipsy!

Ipsy was super late this month. It arrived on the 17th, despite the estimated deliver date being May 13 originally. Then May 15. Then finally May 17.

18575526_10101034279279399_912561222_oThis month’s bag is a clear summer pool floating inspired number covered in ice cream cones. I don’t hate it but I wasn’t super psyched. It is plastic like the bag I took my toiletries in while I went on vacation. *shrug*

18575242_10101034279294369_1734982576_o

 

Inside the bag, I got It Cosmetics Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara in Black (sample size, retail $24.00), Cailyn Cosmetics Pure Lust Extreme Matte Tint + Velvet in #32 Practicable (full size, retail $19.00), Beauty & Pin-Ups Fearless Hair Rescue Masque (sample size, retail $32.00), City Color Cosmetics Bold Eyebrow Powder duo in Medium (sample size, retail $3.99), and Urban Decay Afterglow 8-Hour Highlighter in Sin (sample size, retail $26.00). No tools in this bag and hair stuff to boot. Booo!

Up next is Morphe. Compared to Ipsy, Morphe arrived super early. It got here on the 16th when it normally shows up 3-5 days after Ipsy. I got 5 brushes this time! This month’s theme was Voyage to Glam. So appropriate for my vacation month. ❤

IMG_5725.JPG

I got the G1 (small buffer brush, $9.99), G19 (round liner contour brush, $2.99), G38 (mini round contour brush, $5.99), G40 (pro detail powder brush, $5.99), and G41 (mini contour brush, $5.99). Total retail value of $30.95. I gotta say, I’m underwhelmed by Morphe at this point. 5 bags and none of them have been worth more than $32. 😦 I’m still saving $10-12 on brushes each month but… I’ve heard raves about bags worth $50-80 and I haven’t seen it yet. If next month’s bag is still just a $30 job, I will probably cancel after that one. It makes me sad but I really thought they’d do a really expensive bag soon.

And my super special purchase…

IMG_5720

I got a massive box.

Inside that box was…

IMG_5721

Another box. Huh?

Inside that 2nd box was…

IMG_5722

More boxes! If you look close you can see the major part of this purchase. I have joined the DSLR world with a black Nikon D3400. I got a bundle off Amazon for $674.00 (including expedited 2 day shipping). The kit came with the camera (battery, wall charger, 18-55 lens, and 70-300 lens included), a massive accessory kit (including the pictured tripod and bag along with everything in the box), and I added a Nikon D3400 For Dummies book and a spare battery/charger set from ecoEfficiency with 2 batteries and a wall/lighter charger (plus a European converter plug… I think). Super expensive purchase but it is something I have been wanting forever.

IMG_5724

The entire bundle included (copied from Amazon because I’m lazy): Nikon D3400 24.2MP DSLR Camera w/ 18-55 and 70-300 lens / 64GB Memory Card / Telephoto Lens / Wide Angle Lens / 3-Piece Filter Kit / Digital Slave Flash / Wireless Shutter Release / 58″ Tripod / DSLR Accessories Bundle with Bag. The camera itself had the 18-55 and 70-300 lenses, a battery, and a wall charger. The bundle included cleaning stuff, an SD card reader, an SD card holder, lens ring thingy, camera hand hold thingy, and whatever the cord thing is. Obviously I have no idea what the last 3 things are yet.

There was a reason I ordered Nikon D3400 for Dummies. lol

The book and battery set were sold separately so I bundled them with the camera bundle. They arrived the day after the camera. At the time of ordering, the set was on sale. The entire purchase would be $728 + tax + shipping now. I saved around $100 by lucky chance.

I am super excited about this but I have no clue how to use it. A friend of mine is a professional photographer and I am going to see her at the end of the month at a local dog show. Go Great Danes! Woof! I’m taking everything to her and she is going to explain what the pieces are, help me decide what I’m keeping and what I’m not (she can have them if she wants them), figure out what else I need (like a bigger bag, no room at all lol), and teach me the basics of the camera. I am going to try to read the entire book before that weekend gets here. If not by then, I’ll be seeing her about 3 weeks later at another dog show so I’ll have finished it by then. Maybe. 😀

I am not going to continue Unboxed with the camera. Otherwise, we’ll all be here for hours. But I have to go finish mowing the yard so Unboxed is coming tomorrow with Ipsy and Morphe.

❤ Dee

One thought on “In the Bag #20: May Ipsy and Morphe + Special Purchase

Leave a Reply

