Gym and Pampering

Today was the last day of our week long free trial at the gym. Mom and I headed out at 10am this morning. We had to go to the bank so I could set up my “out of town” paperwork so the bank doesn’t freeze my debit card while I’m in the Bahamas in the coming weeks.

We made it to the gym at 10:30am and we did great! Mom increased her treadmill speed by .2 mph today, hit 1.1mi in 30 minutes, and tried 3 new machines. I have no idea which machines or what reps she did because I was behind her timing by 10 minutes today. I spent the first 10 minutes this morning with the General Manager going over the pricing details for a family membership.

I ended up on the treadmill after Mom had already been on for a little over 10 minutes. I decided to mix it up today. And man I felt it. My normal speed is 2.2 mph. But I wanted to push myself today and see just what I could manage.

I did:

  • 2.2 mph for 3 minutes
  • 3.0 mph for 3 minutes
  • 3.5 mph for 3 minutes
  • 3.0 mph for 3 minutes
  • 3.5 mph for 2 minutes
  • 3.3 mph for 1 minute
  • 3.7 mph for 1 minute
  • 4.0 mph for 1 minute
  • 3.7 mph for 1 minute
  • 3.3 mph for 1 minute
  • 3.0 mph for 11 minutes

Holy crap I sweated through my shirt! With my short legs, 4.0 mph was a light jog for me. My knee was super pissed but I met my goal of jogging for 1 minute so all is well. It took a few tries to figure out what speed was a jog but I got there about half way through my 30 minutes. My heart rate got all the way up to 144, the highest it has been this week. Normally, I sit fairly evenly between 100 and 110. I did 1.53 miles this time. Woo!

I hit the last 3 machines that I haven’t tried yet.

  • Torso Rotations 3 sets of 10 at 30 lbs with 0 resistance (massive charlie horse in my ribs when I started but it went away… what an awkward machine!)
  • Arm Curl 3 sets of 10 at 0 lbs with 10 resistance (couldn’t move the machine at all with 30 pounds, the minimum so I played with the resistance instead)
  • Arm Extension 3 sets of 10 at 0 pounds 5 resistance (same issue as the arm curl machine)

I finished my cool down on the recumbent bike. I did 10 minutes at 8.8-9.2 mph. I hit 1.53 miles at the end (same as my treadmill distance). I looked gross but felt great! lol A shower was definitely necessary when I got home.

After the shower, I had to head out of town to do some last minute vacation prep: eyebrow wax, manicure, and pedicure. I put my manicure off a week so that it wouldn’t be so grown out on my vacation. I hit Chipotle for lunch and then headed to Ulta to see Dallas for a mani and hoped the girls at the brow bar could fit me in for a brow wax afterwards. We did a “wet sand” look with my nails: a gray-ish brown on 4 nails and a shimmery blue on 1 nail per hand. Very cute. A different girl did my eyebrows this time and she trimmed my eyebrows. I wanted to protest since I have sparse brows but I didn’t. She sees more eyebrows than me so I figured I’d give her the benefit of the doubt this time around. They, surprisingly, didn’t turn out bad. She slathered my forehead in concealer afterwards though because she “couldn’t” let me leave the store looking like that. Poor girl, she doesn’t understand the struggle that is my skin. The redness will go away within 24-48 hours. No worries.

Finally finished at Ulta (I didn’t buy any makeup, I swear!), I had to head to a different salon to get my vacation pedicure. Ulta doesn’t do pedis but this other salon’s prices are higher than Ulta so I don’t get my mani there. I only do a pedi about 3-4 times a year so I deal with their sets being $10-15 higher. Not that I have a choice anyways. lol The lady that did my pedi did a leg massage this time. It is hit or miss with this salon if the tech does the leg massage but this woman went at my calves like they were the enemy. I like deep tissue massage and have a high pain tolerance but this was almost at my threshold. My calves feel amazing now, 2 hours later, so I’m glad I didn’t tell her to be easier but I was close. I picked a similar wet sand shade for my pedicure. This one is a red-brown with gold shimmer.

Doesn’t it all look pretty?

18209568_10101016337599669_1711543027_o

I’m ready for vacation now! 1 week to go. 😀

❤ Dee

2 thoughts on “Gym and Pampering

Leave a Reply

