2 Days In A Row At The Gym

Mom and I have managed 2/2 days this week during our free trial at that gym I checked out this weekend. I’ve done well, a bit better than I expected. We spent about 50 minutes there yesterday and an hour today.

  • Yesterday, I did:
    • 22 minutes at on the elliptical (.5 mi),
    • 3 sets of 10 each on the leg press, leg extension, and seated leg curl machines, and then
    • a 10 minute cool down on the treadmill at 2.0 mph (.33 mi).
  • Mom did:
    • 30 minutes at 1.9 mph on the treadmill (.95 mi),
    • an unknown number on the leg press (she just kept going, not understanding what a set/rep is),
    • 3 sets of 10 each on the leg extension and seated leg curl machines, and then
    • a 10 minute cool down on the treadmill at 2.0 mph (.33 mi).

Today, we did even more!

  • I did:
    • 30 minutes at 2.2 mph on the treadmill (1.09 mi),
    • 3 sets of 10 each on the abdominal, back extension, hip abduction, and hip adduction machines, and then
    • a 10 minute cool down on a stationary bike going roughly 9.5-10.2 mph (1.6 mi).
  • Mom did:
    • 30 minutes at 2.0 mph on the treadmill (1 mi),
    • 3 sets of 10 each on the leg press, leg extension, abdominal, and back extension machines, and then
    • a 10 minute cool down on the treadmill at 2.1 mph (.35 mi).

Mom wanted no part of the hip abduction and hip adduction machines. lol I admit, they were not the funnest of things. We have to be careful with what exercises Mom does because of the surgery she has had on her lower back and the pinched nerve she has somewhere in her shoulder area. But she should be able to do the abduction and adduction machines. She’s just chicken. lol The abdominal machine was more difficult on my lower back than those other 2 machines. But man I felt it in my legs when I used them. haha

We are skipping the gym tomorrow because we need to mow the yard and that takes hours. We won’t be done in time to go. But we’re going back on Thursday and Saturday. Mom is liking it a lot. She is a bit overeager in trying more than she really should starting out but she is also not making an effort to figure the machines out. She just waits for me to finish what I’m doing to get me to adjust the machine for our height and a reasonable weight/resistance and then tell her what to do. Hopefully, once we work our way through most of the machines, she won’t need me to do that anymore. It is definitely a good way for me to learn the machines at least. haha

So far so good.

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

