Solo Traveler #78: It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Illumination Anti-Aging Concealer

16804882_10100944749602589_406978734_oI got It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Illumination Anti-Aging Concealer from Ipsy in February. It retails for $24.00 ($85.71/oz) This is in the shade Neutral Medium. It scored a 17.

Oh man this concealer was the talk of the town during January’s Ipsy release. The people talking it up fell into a couple different groups:

  1. Those that got it and said it is the best thing on the market
  2. Those that got it and complained loudly about how the hate it
  3. Those that didn’t get it and complained loudly about how unfair it was
  4. Those that didn’t get it and were so freaking happy about that

I was fairly indifferent to not getting it in my January glam bag. When it showed up in my February glam bag, I was still fairly indifferent. I have a bad track record with concealers so I was skeptical of those in group #1, especially considering just how many people were in groups #2 & #4.

The sample is super tiny but you really only need a tiny amount so I have gotten more use out of this than I originally expected. The shade is a lot lighter than I would expect from a “medium” shade but it matches me well. It brightens my under eye without making me look pale so I’m alright with the shade.

What I’m not alright with is the consistency of the formula. This stuff is seriously thick. And if you try to apply a few dots or a swipe under each eye then go back and blend them out, be prepared to work for it. This stuff dries quickly and makes it very difficult to blend out after a few seconds. It isn’t that big of a deal to do one eye at a time, but I figured I’d point that out. Even doing one eye at a time, this stuff is not easy to blend due to just how dang thick it is.

This concealer works in the end as an under eye brightener. I don’t think I’d try to conceal a pimple with it but it is great for under eye circles. I will not pay $24 for just under eye brightening though. I’ll gladly welcome more samples from Ipsy of this product but I won’t purchase it.

Side note: The length of the name of this product is obnoxious. 😡

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

