March Favorites

Ya’ll I have wracked my brain to figure out what my favorite things from March are and I have to be honest… not a single thing relates to makeup. Shocking, I know. I have 1,000 things to choose from and all of my favorites this month lay outside of the beauty realm.

Note: The photos are not mine in this post. The first two are captures from the internet. The 3rd is a screenshot from my phone. Just saying.

CaptureMy first favorite is the computer work bought for me in early March. We had to replace Traveler, my old work laptop, as he was struggling with Windows 10. The new one is a Lenovo Thinkpad T470. It took 3 weeks to get my new guy (ordered in late February) and then another 4 days for IT to set him up, and then another 2-3 days for me to move my personal files over and personalize everything. I talked about him in a previous post. The best part is that I am allowed to use him as a personal computer. So I have a ton more capability than I did previously on my 5 to 6-year-old Toshiba, Harvey. Traveler and Harvey will be missed but I’m slowly working out the kinks with Lenny. I still can’t get Java to work but everything else is in working order now. 🙂

Capture2My 2nd favorite from March is a meal replacement powder. I’m not on a diet. I’m just trying to develop better eating habits because mine stink. The two biggest things I struggle with is managing to eat breakfast at all and overeating bad-for-me food at dinner. Mom had to get this Syntrax Nectar Whey Protein Isolate powder when she had her surgery last year. She got chocolate truffle. She did the 1/4 cup of powder with 2 ounces of skim milk 3 times a day as part of her surgery prep. I am using up what she had left over and doing 1 cup of powder with 8 ounces of water after I get up in the mornings, prior to coffee. I’m also doing 1 cup at night as a replacement for dinner if Mom decides to cook something I shouldn’t have (hamburger helper, anything fried, all carbs, etc.) My serving is about 100 calories, 160mg of sodium, 200mg of potassium, and 23g of protein. No sugar, fat, or carbs. Not much in vitamins either but I’m getting something at breakfast and that is an improvement. It tastes good, I’ll say that. A 2 pound canister of this stuff costs about $40 and has 130 servings (at 1/4 a cup) or around 33 servings (at 1 cup). A little pricey but it has had a great impact on helping me retrain my body to eat right. In addition to this, I have cut back to 1-2 cans of soda a week, a maximum of 2 cups of coffee a day, and balanced, well-proportioned lunches. I’m down a pant size after 2 weeks so that is cool. More importantly, I feel energized all day long, no longer suffering from midday fatigue, and I’m rarely hungry. Woo! 😀

17796038_10100986852662719_1042916448730356496_nMy last March favorite is an app I have on my iPhone. I don’t know if Countdown Star is an Apple exclusive app or not but it is free and fun to play around with. I can set multiple countdowns and set it to track the countdown by years, months, days, minutes, and seconds. I like to see the total days to go. There are a few backgrounds to choose from and I can set favorites to view on the widget screen. Currently, I am counting down to the end of my J.Cat Beauty giveaway (10 days), my 2017 vacation (27 days), New Year’s (267 days), my 34th birthday (330 days), and the 2020 election (1,304 days).

That’s it for today folks. Got a surprise birthday part to head out to in a few minutes so I’ll catch you tomorrow.

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

