Small Blog Revamp

Good morning everyone!

I am out and about today for a mani appointment at Ulta. I have a very important meeting with Chipoltle afterwards. I’ve been really good about bringing my lunch to work, not drinking soda, and not eating fast food for the past couple weeks so I’m treating myself to a yummy (and not healthy) burrito with guac & chips day. I’d live on this stuff if it were even remotely possible. ❤

I stayed up late last night to catch the single day of Ulta’s 21 Days of Beauty that I wanted. It just happened to be the first day I got out of makeup buying exile. Mario Badescu products are 25% off today with the one-day only sale and the Julep products are marked down from $18 to $10 during the 21 Days of Beauty event. I have a 20% off coupon too.

My plan was to buy:

  • Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Cucumber, and Green Tea, $7.00 -25%
  • Mario Badescu Super Collagen Mask, $18.00 -25%
  • Mario Badescu Aloe Vera Toner (2 of these), $15.00 each -25%
  • Free 3-piece MB (with a $35 MB purchase) gift that includes a box, 1 oz bottles of Glycolic Foaming Cleanser, Alpha Grapefruit Cleansing Lotion, Hydro Moisturizer with Vitamin C, and a Vitamin C Serum packet
  • Julep Eyeshadow 101 Creme To Powder Eyeshadow Stick, $10.00 each in shades olive, evergreen, and pearl.
  • Free deluxe sample Length Matters Mascara with a $30 Julep purchase

Unfortunately, things didn’t work out like I had planned. I read that these sales go live at 1am EST. Previously, I thought it was 10pm EST the night before. Oy. So I set an alarm to get up this morning at 1am and went to bed. My alarm never went off or I slept through it. My version of sleeping in is waking up between 7 and 8am typically so I woke up at 7:45 this morning really irritated.

The pearl eyeshadow stick was sold out when I got on Ulta.com this morning. I grabbed up gunmetal instead. The MB 3-piece gift wouldn’t go in my cart and didn’t show up as a gift with purchase so I guess they are sold out. 😦 I also picked up 6 of the J.Cat Beauty eye liners that are marked down to 2.49 for some reason that I assume includes discontinuing them. Right before checkout, I grabbed a restock of cotton pads and a new Ulta set that just came out recently.

I didn’t know if I could use my coupon on any of these items since they all say they are excluded from coupons. I also didn’t know if using the coupon would mean I didn’t qualify for the free gifts any more since the $ amount would drop. When I used it, it took the money off the purchase at the end, not individual items, so it worked just fine. I also used my Rewards points to shave off a few more $$. I ordered 17 items in total and only 1 was an kind of sort of impulse purchase. I got the stuff on my list that I’ve been waiting on for a month including a restock of my beloved toner, I picked up eyeliners from my wish list while they were on sale (and potentially before they were discontinued), and got the new Ulta set. I don’t know if this is the Spring 2017 equivalent to the face palette they sold last year but it has a ton of stuff in it for $24. A 24 pan eyeshadow palette, 4 pan face palette, setting spray, 4 lippies, the dual ended eyeliners they always have and I always pitch, 3 makeup brushes, 2 throw away sponge applicators, and a cute hard shell case with small mirror.

Capture

While I was waiting for the sale to go live, I decided to start messing with revamping my site. If you look at the header, you see a few of the pages are gone. I ditched the Wish List and the 100 Days of Makeup pages. I never seem to really stick to my Wish List as it changes daily and I just can’t keep up with the 100 Days of Makeup posts. I did good for a while but it really was becoming a chore to try to remember to post daily on what I wore or worse, try to remember 3 or 4 days later what I wore all week! My rule with this blog is anything that is a chore is not worth it due to the potential risk of making me sour on the blog. So far so good.

When I get back from vacation in May, the site will get a major revamp. Until this, this mini cleanup must suffice.

I guess I’m waiting on an Ulta order and keeping my fingers crossed that everything shows up. 🙂

❤ Dee

P.S. Have you entered my giveaway yet? 18 days left!

Leave a Reply

