Solo Traveler #72: J.Cat Beauty Pout-holic Lipstick

16667815_10100938530859999_1023735308_oI got the J.Cat Beauty Pout-holic Lipstick as part of the brand’s lip vault. 8 items for $26.00! This product retails normally at $4.99 ($49.90/oz). I got the shades Flashback Friday and Like for Like. I gave them a score of 19.

First of all, let me say this: these are kind of incredible lipsticks. They don’t say they are matte (and they do transfer a lot) but these last for hours. I’m talking, like, almost 10 hours through eating breakfast and lunch, a few smoke breaks, drinks, etc.

Also, I love this naming series. It is based on social media names. I feel like that is very cute and very applicable to people today.

However, I have 2 issues with this product. 1) I really wasn’t into the shades that I got in the lip vault to begin with. One is a described (pictured) as a nude pink but looks like a coral/orange shade in the container. The other is described as a pink/purple on the deep side but looks like a pink/purple on the pastel side. I wanted that pink/purple to be okay when I ordered it but I kept putting off wearing it because I was just sure it wouldn’t work out once I got it in hand. Which brings me to #2. 2) These two particular shades are not true to their descriptions online nor to their packaging. In fact, they are exact shade duplicates of each other. And the shade? Pastel Barbie pink. Dear God. I tried Flashback Friday first. It was Barbie pink. Gross. I wiped it off. I tried Like for Like instead. It was Barbie pink. The hell? I wiped it off. I put Flashback Friday on my top lip. I put Like for Like on my bottom lip. They are the same flipping shade.

For obvious reasons, these 2 particular lipsticks went into the box of shame. I waffle on pink enough as it is and I just will not do pastel Barbie pink. Blahhhhh.

Ulta.com offers 16 shades in this line. There are some nice nudes, pinks, berries, and reds along with some crazy blues, greens, grays, and yellows. I might try this again with TMI but that is probably the only shade I will be brave enough to try in the future. It looks like a solid red. I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

