Solo Traveler #60: Makeup Revolution Retro Luxe Matte Lip Kit

16409021_10100932573713169_2127266952_oI picked up two of the Makeup Revolution Retro Luxe Matte Lip Kits on a B1G1 50% off sale from Ulta.com in January. These are regularly $9.00 ($50.00/oz) and I got 2 of them for $13.50. I gave them a score of 22, one of my highest scores for drugstore makeup. The only other drugstore product that has scored this high is my Elf matte lip colors.

The lip kits are (my theory, not confirmed) a knockoff of the Kylie Lip Kits with 1 liquid matte lipstick and a matching lip liner. The line has 5 shades and I picked them up in the shades reign and echelon.

The first thing to know about these is that the lip liner is similar in ColourPop’s lip liners. The body looks like it is hard plastic. However, it can be sharpened with a regular cosmetic pencil sharpener.

The second thing to know is that the lip liners are very soft. They will break if you use much pressure. You’ll have to be gentle with these lip liners while using them.

When I swatched these lip kits, reign swatched great. The lip liner and paired liquid lipstick are a good color match, it wasn’t streaky or patchy, and it dried well. In fact, when I went to clean the swatches off, the lipstick wouldn’t come off! It took several minutes of scrubbing with a baby wipe and Dawn dish detergent to finally get the lipstick off my arm.

Echelon did not swatch as well. It wasn’t streaky or patchy and it dried fine. It also did not come off without a good deal of scrubbing. My issue with echelon was that the color pair wasn’t right. The lip liner swatched a brown shade which is the correct shade. The lipstick swatched a dusty purple shade. It is was a pretty dusty purple but it wasn’t what it was supposed to be and it certainly didn’t match the lip liner.

The first time I tried this product, I chose to try out echelon simply because I wanted to see how badly the lip liner and lipstick worked against each other shade-wise. When I lined my lips, that brown shade ended up going on my lips as a dusty orange! What? When I put the lipstick on my lips over top of the then orange lip liner, it actually worked out to be the correct shade that it was originally intended to be. I have no idea how or why this happened but it worked out.

Reign is too light for my skin tone. It goes on as a pink nude. I think, if I get a bit tan in the summer, this might look nice. But for now, echelon is the one I wear more often.

These lipsticks are most certainly long-wear lipsticks. The first time I tried it, I put it on at 6am and it was still there at 6pm despite eating, drinking, and smoking throughout the day. That is beyond impressive. After the first few minutes, there really wasn’t a huge amount of transfer to most things. It will transfer with a hot drink but did fine with food and cold drinks. It did even better with straws. So it does dry down if you aren’t drinking hot drinks all day long (me). One thing I will say is that if you are eating a wet meal, these will come off. So oily dressings, soups, sour cream, etc. will strip this off your lips during your meal. But if you are eating a mostly dry sandwich or chips, you’ll be good to go after lunch.

Another good thing about these lipsticks is that they never feel dry. Despite it lasting all day and being mostly matte, my lips never feel parched or dry. There is no cracking or flaking of the lipstick. It does crumble in the corners a small amount but given everything else this product has going well for it, this is not a deal breaker.

The one single complaint I have about this product is that while it seems to have very little transfer, it remains sticky all day long. Pressing my lips together, they stick together as if I just applied a really sticky gloss. For you gloss lovers, this is probably not an issue. For me though, this is a tactile nightmare. I hate sticky stuff. My hair is wild so it ends up with this sticky stuff all over it and then my hair gets tangled. Ugh. For this product, the sticky stuff remained just on my lips. I haven’t found any evidence of it in my hair so that gives more credence to the fact that it is drying down matte.

I love the shades of lipstick with the matching lip liners, that it lasts all day long, and how my lips don’t get dried out. I dislike the sticky part. I keep wearing these off and on in the hopes that I can get over my tactile issue of sticky yuckiness. I don’t know if I will ever get over it though. The stickiness tends to start wearing off around the 10 hour mark!

If you get one of these lip kits, I highly recommend that you pick up a pack of exfoliating facial wipes or exfoliating makeup-removing wipes. Emphasis on the exfoliating part. If you try to remove these while it is still sticky, you’re going to need all the help you can get. Wipes. A strong makeup remover. A chisel. I’m telling you, it doesn’t want to come off! If you wait until it starts to lose the stickiness or after, you can remove it easily with an exfoliating wipe.

Ultimately, these are fantastic and you should definitely give them a try. If you don’t mind the sticky bit, then you will love these! I’m not really interested in the other 3 shades they currently have available but I’ll be watching to see if they come out with more shades later on.

Leave a Reply

