One Lovely Blog Award

At the beginning of the month, the lovely Amanda over at Lazy Girl Loves nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award. That is so sweet! Thank you Amanda. Please take some time to check out her blog!

With this nomination, I am supposed to share 7 random facts about myself and then nominate 10 blogs. Easy enough.

7 Random Facts About Me:

  1. I was adopted at 5 months old with my twin brother. Mom was originally our babysitter. Our birth mother was gone by the time Mom started babysitting us. Our birth father tried but he had drug and alcohol addictions that he couldn’t beat. Eventually, he and Mom agreed that it would be best if she took us permanently. We had an open adoption and grew up knowing our birth father and his family.
  2. I was born with my two front bottom teeth. My birth father pulled them out (I was hurting myself). A new set of baby teeth grew in at the appropriate time and then my adult teeth grew in at the appropriate time. So I was born with 3 sets of those teeth. But I was also born without any wisdom teeth. Weird!
  3. I suffer from ornithophobia. That means I am scared, beyond reason or reality, of birds. Big or small, they scare me. I know being scared of birds is unreasonable and the chances of one attacking me on any given day is almost nil. My grandfather kept bird houses and the martins attacked me when I was 3. A farm goose pecked the crap out of me when I was 4. I got between a flock of Canadian geese and their nests when I was 5 and the flogging I got left scars. I’m lucky they didn’t kill me. I’ve been attacked by pet parrots, farm bred chickens, and a random crane over the years as an adult. Canadian geese are the worst for me. All I have to do is hear them squawk and I get nauseated, trembly, and light headed. We go to the zoo about once every 1 to 2 years. I face my fear every time we go by going into the lorakeet cages, buying a cup of nectar, and letting those disgusting creatures fly around me, land on me, etc. and refuse to give in to the brewing panic. Usually, I make it out without a panic attack only to be stalked by the damn peacock. Every single time.
  4. While I do not want children of my own, I love kids. This wasn’t always the case. Until I was in my early mid-20s, the last thing I wanted was to deal with kids. Then my friends started having kids and I realized they weren’t so bad after all. That was a good thing because…
  5. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Collaborative Education for K-6. Collaborative Education is what they began calling Special Education programs in the mid-2000s when there was more emphasis on inclusive teaching. I taught for one year and was cut at the end of the year due to budget cuts. Last one hired, first one fired. I couldn’t find a job the next year so I moved home and continued the job hunt. After another year of not finding a teaching job, I worked as a substitute teacher and as a habilitation technician at a day program for adults with disabilities. Eventually, my license expired without me securing a new full time teaching position and I decided to leave the field of teaching.
  6. Teaching was not my first major in college. Originally, I wanted to be a veterinarian with an emphasis on large cats (lions and tigers, etc.). Once I realized how long school was and how much of a financial burden veterinarians face, I settled with being a veterinary technician. That program closed the semester before I could enroll though so I changed majors again. I moved into a herpetology major and wanted to work for the State at a state park identifying and helping reptiles and amphibians. I let some guy scare me out of my major though with his lecture about how my school alone graduates 500 biology majors a semester that all want to work for the State while the State only hires 5-10 biologists per year. It was only then that I decided to go into teaching.
  7. I practically grew up in the disabled education system. My grandmother, grandfather, 2 aunts, Mom, and Dad all spent time working in that field when I was growing up. What’s funny is I don’t work with people with disabilities any more despite my degree but my brother got a degree in Political Science and runs one of the larger care programs for adults with disabilities in our area. We practically traded places. He should be the one working in a business where it is all numbers and laws and manufacturing and money while I should be working with others to care for people with disabilities. Yet, neither one of us would trade our jobs for the world!

The Blogs I’ve Nominated (the first 1/2 are beauty blogs, the other half are from my vacation reading):

  1. Epithelial Dreams
  2. Beth’s Corner
  3. Dajana Erd
  4. Bee Beauty
  5. Gotta Put On My Face
  6. Mickey’s Premium
  7. Hippogriffs and Polaroids
  8. The Nerdventurists
  9. Her Heart on Travel
  10. Sandals and Beaches Holidays

To the people I nominated, you don’t have to do all of this of course. I just wanted you to know that I appreciate your blog!

Alright folks, I hope you’ll check out the blogs I’ve listed above. I enjoy them a lot and think you will as well. I tried to nominate different blogs than the ones I nominated a few months back for the Blogger Recognition Award. Share the love, ya know? 😀

❤ Dee

6 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Nomination | Epithelial Dreams

Leave a Reply

