I’m 33 Today!

Today is my birthday! And my twin brother’s birthday. And my nephew’s birthday. And 2 former co-workers that also have twin brothers. lol

I don’t really do birthdays. I acknowledge them and always appreciate gifts, cards, calls, and messages. But I don’t have expectations for them. My birthday was a time of mourning when my aunt passed away on my 19th birthday. It wasn’t until my nephew was born on my 29th birthday that it really became a day to celebrate again.

Admittedly, I struggled on my 30th birthday. I was in a very stressful position at the time. No good job prospects. Mom was sick and in-and-out of the hospital constantly. The kids were inching closer to teenager-hood and driving me crazy. Bills were piling up. And everyone kept asking me when I was going to get married and have kids and I was just over it. 3 years later and everything is much better (other than teenager-hood but it too shall pass).

So I am 33, single, with no kids. But I’m in a job that I love that is open to a lot of opportunities surrounding travel and promotions. Mom is finally healthy and I’m not doing too bad myself. I’m counting down the days to my first real vacation. Could be worse, right? 😀

I just want to say that while I am 33, no one would ever accuse me of being an adult. Or normal. And I love myself just the way I am so that isn’t a problem for me. 😀

Welp I’ve got a 4-year-old’s birthday party to prepare for today. We got him an adjustable t-ball stand, a real t-ball bat, and a dozen foam t-ball balls. That kid better know I love him. I spent an hour in Dick’s with a sales associate that must have though I am an idiot because I know nothing about t-ball. 😀

❤ Dee

4 thoughts on “I’m 33 Today!

Leave a Reply

