This Or That: Vacation Edition

I am forcing myself to stop moping over the doctor visit on Monday so let’s talk about makeup. I am so excited about going on vacation in May. That is such a long way off so I am counting down my days by reading about the areas I’m visiting, looking at open/close schedules, checking the weather, and browsing cruise blogs for first timers.

Tonight, I decided to start thinking about what makeup I’m going to take with me. My very first thought when I realized I’d need to take makeup with me was: What if I take my amazing making and my bag gets lost or the makeup gets damaged and then I’m not going to have makeup on my cruise and I won’t have that makeup anymore at all…

Yeah, slight panic attack.

Safe to assume that I am not taking anything expensive on this trip. I am taking my normal battery of skin care stuff: cleanser, toner, and moisturizer. I found some travel size stuff. They aren’t my normal brands but they’ll work for a few days.

Focusing on makeup Dee… I have to take something so I’ve got options.

Primer

  • Do I take a a tiny sample size bottle of Benefit’s POREfessional primer that I got free from Ulta, taking a chance that I’ll run out… or
  • Do I take a full size primer from ELF or Ulta which will take up more space and add more weight to my luggage?
  • Or do I skip primer by taking the BB cream below?

Foundation

  • Do I take my heavy bottle of ELF foundation (because I’m not taking my Kat Von D or Tarte foundations) that also adds into the space/weight mix… or
  • Try to make the Smashbox Camera Ready BB cream sample I got from Ipsy work the whole time and not need primer and have 35 SPF on my face?
  • Or I could take the travel size of that BB cream Mom bought me I guess but it is almost $20 for a travel size. 😡

Concealer

  • Do I leave the concealer at home (if I take the BB cream above)… or
  • Take my NYX concealer (because I’m not taking my Tarte concealer)?

Powder

  • Do I take the chance on my ELF loose powder getting all over my luggage… or
  • Take my ELF pressed powder and take the chance of that getting broken up?

Contour

  • Do I take my Wet N Wild contour stick… or
  • Do I take my Wet N Wild contour pressed powder palette?
  • Or I could just skip contour all together.

Blush

  • Do I take one of my cheap blush samples from Japonesque, Manna Kadar, or Ulta… or
  • Do I take a full-size blush from Ulta or L’oreal?
  • Or I could take that blush/highlighter duo Ulta just sent me for free.

Highlighter

  • Do I take my new Luna highlighter I got from Ipsy… or
  • Do I take my highlighter from Makeup Revolution?
  • Or I could take that blush/highlighter duo Ulta just sent me for free.

Bronzer

  • Do I take my biggest ELF bronzer that is too dark but has an amazing mirror?
  • Do I take a smaller ELF bronzer that is the right color but doesn’t have as good of a mirror?
  • Do I forget bronzer and plan on getting a real tan on the beach instead?

Eyeshadow Primer

  • Do I take the free sample size Ulta just sent me… or
  • Do I dare take my Urban Decay Primer Potion?
  • Or do I dare (even more dare) to not take eyeshadow primer at all?

Eyeshadow

  • Do I take a few ColourPop super shock shadows… or
  • Do I take a few Ulta single eyeshadows… or
  • Do I take 1 or 2 Wet N Wild trios?
  • Or I could take that eyeshadow palette Ulta just sent me for free or the one Ulta sent me last year for free. One of the shadows is called seaside after all.

Eyeliner

  • Do I take my J.Cat Beauty eyeliner and stick with just 1 brown all week… or
  • Do I take a black felt tip liner to have some variety?
  • Should I even bother with eyeliner on a cruise ship!?

Mascara

  • Do I take one of the many sample size mascaras I have been sent/given or bought over the past few months?
  • Do I take that waterproof BellaPierre mascara from Ipsy even though it is a $20 mascara and not incredibly waterproof?
  • Do I just take one of my cheap Essence mascaras and call it a day?

Eyebrows

  • Do I take my ELF brow lift pencil and Ulta brow tint to use as normal… or
  • Should I just take one of them maybe?
  • Do I even want to bother with eyebrows while on a cruise?

Lip primer

  • There is no this or that here. I only have 1 lip primer. Thankfully, I bought an extra back in January. ColourPop lip primer it is.

Lip liner

  • Do I take a couple lip liners that match my lipsticks?
  • Do I take any at all?

Lipstick

  • Do I take a full arsenal of lipsticks or just stick to a couple?
  • Do I bother with cream lipsticks at all?
  • If I only take a few, should I take the ELF matte lip colors or a couple ColourPop liquid lipsticks?
  • Should I just find a lip balm with SPF instead?

Setting Spray

  • Do I need to bring this with me? It is going to take up room and weight in my bag. I’m free the whole time so I can just as easily just touch up my makeup.
  • But, I’m going to be in a wet environment with humidity that I don’t normally experience so my makeup may struggle where it doesn’t normally at home. So maybe I should take it with me anyways.

Ahhh so many questions. No real answers yet. I think the easy answer is to take stuff that was free above others if possible. And also, limiting space and weight in my bag is important so dual products are a good idea. The 2 palettes Ulta just sent me might be exactly what I need for eyeshadow, highlighter, and blush. Maybe I can sacrifice a few items to try to keep things under control. Good thing Ulta sent me a large makeup bag too!

I have around 8 weeks to make these decisions so I’m not sweating it yet. But I’m noodling on it. I’ll be ready to go when my flight heads out, I swear.

❤ Dee

4 thoughts on “This Or That: Vacation Edition

  1. I only take a few eyeshadow options on vacation. Usually just one small palette. I also only take 1 blush, highlighter, and bronzer/contour. It is usually hot and you are cative so most of your makeup is going to melt away. It worls better for me to keep my makeup at a minimum.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is kind of what I’m thinking. I’m more concerned about having makeup for the dinning room on the cruise ship at night. I have to wear dressy clothes. -.-

      Like

  2. I am an over-packer to the extreme…but what I’ve learned over the years is that I tend to wear very little makeup when I’ve been in the sun all day. Pretty much just BB cream, cream eye shadow, mascara, and a bright lip. It looks like you have some great options to bring along!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have way too many options. lol I think I’m going to have to figure out what clothes I’m packing then maybe that will help me decide on makeup. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

