Solo Traveler #54: Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream

16196491_10100921683043159_802659794_o I had my doubts about this Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream. I got in January’s Ipsy bag in the shade light-medium and I put off using it until almost February because I don’t do BB creams. I like full coverage foundation and I’ve always said anything less feels useless. However, I am prepared to eat my words at this point.

This BB cream is 1 ounce and runs retail of $39.00 ($39.00/oz). I scored it at a 20. It is said to be a 5-in-1 product in that it primes, perfects, hydrates, controls shine, and has SPF 35. All good things. I can say from my own use that it does live up to most of those claims.

The pros:

  • The color match was spot on for me. Light-medium is a perfect match to give my skin a hint of color in the dull winter months.
  • It feels super light on the skin. I’m used to heavy foundations so this was a pleasant change. It wasn’t drying. I feel like I stopped at moisturizer when I wear this product.
  • A little bit goes a long way. I got this in the sample size (0.25 ounces) and use about a pea-sized amount for my whole face.
  • The coverage is good for a BB cream. It isn’t full coverage so I wasn’t expecting miracles. It did as well as my Elf foundations (which are not full coverage either) so that isn’t bad at all.
  • It is a multi-use product. You can skip primer with this BB cream. I didn’t have an issue with it moving around. On rosacea flair days, I still used my ELF tone adjust primer to help control some of the redness because this BB cream struggled.
  • It has built in SPF. This is always nice to have.
  • It doesn’t smell! I expected a strong chemical smell due to the SPF 35. There is none.

The cons:

  • This is expensive for a 1 ounce bottle. I don’t like that price. It is as expensive as Tarte’s Amazonian Clay 12-hour foundation which is full coverage. I’m still put off about the price.
  • It doesn’t control oil for me. I still had some shine at 4 hours like many other foundations. I just have really oily skin. It wasn’t surprising but a little disappointing. If you are oily like me, be prepared to blot mid-day and maybe reapply some translucent powder afterwards.
  • The squeeze tube is annoying like all squeeze tubes. I much prefer the pump in my Kat Von D Lock It foundation.
  • The shade range is dumb. They have 8 shades. 5 of those shades are for light-skinned people. They have fair, fair-light, light, light-neutral, light-medium, medium, medium-dark, and dark. That dark shade is so light that it would look ashy on Kid 1 and she considers herself to be a medium-dark with pink undertones on the POC shade spectrum. That is just messed up. A big brand like this can do better. 😡

Ultimately, I like this product. I don’t know if I will buy it though. That price is just too much for 1 ounce of product. They have a travel size (0.5 oz) in my particular shade for $19.50. Mom picked it up for me for my birthday to take on vacation. I still haven’t decided 100% if I’m taking it or not. Oddly, the travel size is only available in 2 shades, light and light-medium.

 ❤ Dee

3 thoughts on “Solo Traveler #54: Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream

  1. Not a fan of this or most BBs as well but mostly because I prefer CC Creams as opposed to a more fuller coverage. I also noticed right away after I got my ipsy sample of this BB the lack of shade range; I’m mixed race (Native and Caucasian mostly) and the light/medium was way too light, as all BBs seem to be unless you get one the darkest shades, which also usually cost like $15 more! I’d be so livid if I was darker skin-toned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel the same way. I don’t use BB creams (or CC creams) because I like full coverage. This one isn’t bad when I don’t need a lot of coverage though. It performed way better than the cheap BB creams I’ve tried. And yeah, that shade range makes me furious. I’m glad they have a shade for me, but it isn’t exactly difficult for me to find a shade for my skin tone. There is no reason for a huge brand like Smashbox not to invest into a wider range of shades to better fit their market.

      Like

Leave a Reply

