Unboxed #13

I always happy to get free stuff! Let’s get these new goodies open. 🙂

Up first, the items from Ulta…

17091186_10100955968484859_962162794_oI picked up a replacement for my ELF lip exfoliator. This is my 3rd. I still have more than 1/2 of the 2nd one left but I wanted to take a new one with me on vacation. I love these things and consider them absolutely essential to my nightly skin care routine. These are $3.00 and come in a few different fragrances/tastes now. I prefer the clear one.

17016484_10100955968464899_1525173270_oI couldn’t figure out what I was going to do for toner while on vacation. I’m still not certain this Mario Badescue Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs, and Rosewater will be as good on my skin as the Aloe Vera Toner from the same brand. It was $5.00 so if it doesn’t work, I’m not going to be broken up about it. However, going 9 days without my good toner might not be much fun. My alternative was getting an empty travel spray bottle and pouring my aloe toner in it, and taking the chance of it leaking all over. :/

17016174_10100955968439949_640057411_oI debated on this Smashbox Camera Ready BB cream for weeks. I got it as a sample in January from Ipsy and I really like it. It has SPF 35 which makes it kind of perfect to take with me on vacation. And that little sample lasts quite a while. However, it is expensive! A full size of this product retails at $39.00. The travel size was $19.50 and I just couldn’t rationalize spending that kind of money on 1/2 an ounce of product. But Mom told me to order it for my birthday so here it is. *shrug*17016482_10100955968474879_533383539_o

The last item I picked up was from J.Cat Beauty’s Love Live Lash mascara line. This is the volume mascara. I wanted it to put with the eye vault from this brand that I will be using in a giveaway once my blog hits 100 followers. How can an eye vault not have a mascara included?! This retails at $5.99. I’m not opening this one since it will be given away.


Now, onto Sephora.

17036225_10100955968589649_175481408_oThe only item from Sephora that was paid for was this 4-sided nail Sephora brand nail block. I will definitely be taking it on vacation with me. It was $3.00 (on clearance I think).

17036963_10100955968644539_633793512_o

Since I ordered the nail block, I qualified for my birthday gift from Sephora. This is a Sephora exclusive item for Beauty Insiders from Tarte. It is a sample size of Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Paaarty and Tarteist Lip Paint in Birthday Suit. The blush is a subtle pink that blends out really soft. I’ve used the Lip Paint before and liked it (but hated the shade) so I’m really happy to get this. The color is a pretty neutral and it dries matte within a few seconds. Sadly, this is much smaller than the sample I got from the Bold Lip sampler.

Alright the last 5 items are some of weirdest samples I’ve ever seen. Sephora had a special “get 5” samples thing going on when I placed the order.

I picked up a Dior Rouge Lipstick sampler in the shades 772 Classic Matte, 136 Delicate Matte, 999 Matte, and 787 Exuberant Matte. At first, I thought these were actual lipstick bullets but they aren’t. After opening the package, you see that these are just plastic shells with a thin layer of the lipstick to make it look like a bullet. This came with a tiny lip brush. That was kind of cool. However, these lipsticks retail for $35.00 each so even if I love the product, safe to say I will never buy it at retail.

Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment Perfecting Wand… This. Is. Weird. I kind of love the little applicator. You get a tiny plastic applicator but it has the tip that the retail product has. There is a tiny bubble of lip scrub that looks to be full of glitter. I’m super curious how the full size product works. It retails for $24.00 so I’m going to have to research this thing before I make that kind of leap.

I had no idea what this Smashbox Insta-Matte Lipstick Transformer was when I ordered the sample. I mean, I get the concept, but huh? Apparently it is a gel that you tap over lipsticks (no glosses, balms, or lacquers) until it is matte enough for you. I find myself super skeptical. I have a few cream lipsticks that I’m going to give this a shot with and see how it does. It retails for $24.00 so it would need to work 100% for me to buy it. But the concept sounds interesting at least.

Bite’s sample is The Multistick, a trio of shades (papaya, biscotti, and cashew) that is supposed to “apply like a cream, wear like a powder” and claims to be for lips, eyes, and cheeks. Color me confused. None of these shades would work for me as a cheek color but that might be interesting eyeshadows. This retails at $24.00. If I had a shade that was a literal triad for me, that might be worth $24.00. They have 18 shades on Sephora.com so I may need to spend some time on those.

The last sample came from Make Up For Ever. It is Step 1 Skin Equalizer, part of the brand’s primer line. This particular primer is formulated as a hydrating primer for normal skin. This particular sample does me diddly squat. I have oily skin with redness so their Mattifying or Redness Correcting Step 1s might work but this one does not. I’m not even going to open it. *shrug* The full size retails for $37.00 so I’m gonna call this one done.

I have extreme prejudice against the single use samples. Especially when they are in cardboard. I can’t explain it. But at least I can admit it, right? 😀

Swatches of that Tarte blush and lipstick coming next.

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

