I’m A Hair Raiser: Products I Use Now

In the last 2 Hair Raiser posts, I’ve talked about my hair issues and the things I’ve done over the years to try to deal with them as well as what I’ve found to be working lately. Today, I am talking about the actual products I’ve found that helps with my particular issues.

17016526_10100953710280319_1884523588_o

My favorite dry shampoo, my love-it-but-hate-it frizz serum, and my DIY scalp exfoliant.

Fine/Thin Hair – I’ve tried the shampoo/conditioners that say they will help add texture to fine hair or will fill out thin hair. They are crap. CRAP. The only thing that I’ve ever found that helps this issue is using dry shampoo. I started using dry shampoo to try to deal with the oil issue so discovering this benefit was a total bonus. When I use dry shampoo, my hair has a lot more body and volume, it will hold curl or an up-do style for a few hours, and it doesn’t look like a grease fire waiting to happen.

There are a few cons with dry shampoo though.

  • I personally cannot deal with the baby powder smell of a lot of dry shampoos. I have to use the unscented kind or it will cause my allergies all kinds of problems.
  • If I use this in an enclosed place (like the bathroom), I have to open the window and turn on the fan because the powder gets into the air. I also have to clean everything that night because it settles into a layer on everything.
  • With regular use of dry shampoo, this can clog the pores in the scalp so a clarifying shampoo is a must.

§ I use Not Your Mother’s (Unscented) Dry Shampoo. I get it at WalMart for about $5.00 per can. This can lasts me about 2 months since I only use it maybe once or twice a week.

Tangled Hair – Regular conditioner in the shower is the only thing that helps my tangled hair. I’ve yet to find a leave-in conditioner that doesn’t immediately cause my scalp to pour oil. Or a brush or comb made for detangling hair that works. But conditioner itself also causes oil production to go into hyper-drive. I can only use conditioner on the bottom 3rd of my hair so long as my hair is long enough to put in a pony tail.

§ I use any conditioner we have at the time. Typically it is a Suave brand from WalMart that is around $5.00 per bottle.

Oil Production – The biggest improvement I’ve made toward controlling oil production is going away from washing my hair daily with hot water. With the dry shampoo mentioned above, I was able to train my hair so that I now wash my hair in lukewarm water every 3 to 4 days. I had to use dry shampoo on day 2 at first and had to wash it that night. With some time, I was able to do nothing on day 2, then use dry shampoo on day 3 and wash that night. Now, I can comfortably skip doing anything on days 2 and 3 and use dry shampoo on day 4 before I need to wash it that night. I’m not interested in going beyond 4 days but I have no doubt that I could train my hair to survive to day 7 if I was motivated.

§ I don’t have another product to list here but I can tell you the other dry shampoos that I’ve tried that I didn’t like: Batiste ($7.99-$8.99), Sexy Hair ($17.95), PSSSST! ($6.99), and John Frieda ($6.99).

Dry Itchy Scalp – Since I can’t use conditioner near the roots of my hair, my scalp has become dry and itchy. Like with oil production, I’ve made decent strides in controlling this by changing my showering habits. However, between the use of dry shampoo and no conditioner, my scalp is still an issue. Dandruff shampoo doesn’t do anything. Oil treatments ramp up the oil production. Ugh.

§ I’ve found 1 commercial product that actually helps. Nioxin System 1 cleanser relieves the itching and controls the flakes. However, it is expensive at $27.00 for a 16 ounce bottle. Despite the price, I like this shampoo. The conditioner in this line is even more expensive at $32.00 for the 16 ounce bottle. Given my issue with oil production related to conditioner use, I’m afraid to try this insanely expensive product.

§ With my use of dry shampoo, I found that clarifying shampoo is necessary. However, it is also drying on my scalp. I put together a DIY dry scalp exfoliant that cleans my hair of the dry shampoo residue and lifts the dry scalp flakes at the same time. I’ve noticed it is also causing a small amount of new hair growth and increased hair length growth that I didn’t have before I started using it. I can’t prove that but I see it. Provided I follow it with conditioner all over, oil be damned, I don’t do too much drying to my scalp.

Fly Away Hairs – As I like to call them, Unicorn Hairs, fly away hairs are a new nightmare added to my laundry list of hair complaints. This has been caused by a few different things:

  • Not using conditioner on the crown of my head
  • Tangled hair getting broke off or pulled out
  • My glasses breaking off or pulling out hairs
  • Keeping my hair in a pony tail more often than not
  • My DIY hair exfoliant causing new hair growth

This particular issue is what caused me to talk to my stylist at Ulta. I don’t have a good way of dealing with fly away hair and asked him for a recommendation. The trouble is, any product I use is going to either ramp up oil production, weigh down my hair, or make my hair look dirty. Understandably, he was stumped.

§ Right now, I use John Frieda Frizz Ease Extra Strength Hair Serum. It is $9.99 at Ulta and I think $9.50 at WalMart. This product is hit or miss every dang day. Sometimes, I can use just the right amount and it gets about 75% of my fly away hairs under control. Sometimes, I can use the exact same amount and my entire crown looks crunchy and dirty and oily. *sigh*

So I don’t use a ton of stuff. Shampoo, conditioner, DIY scalp exfoliant, dry shampoo, and frizz serum. And all of that is with mixed results. :/

I picked up 2 products at Ulta from their clearance rack that I am debating trying or not.

16936198_10100953710265349_292373769_oI have heard great things about the brand Carols Daughter. Lisa’s Hair Elixir is supposed to be a scalp treatment. I want to try it but I’m scared it is going to make oil production worse and I’ll be back to struggling through oily Day 1 hair again. I got it for $4.99. If I can’t use it, Mom or Kid 1 might use it instead. I also picked up a Frizz Eliminator spray from Sexy Hair’s Smooth Sexy Hair line. It was $3.99 I think but I can’t find the clearance sticker now. *shrug* Supposedly this can be used on dry hair. If it works, I will definitely be taking this one to work for when my hair decides to play Medusa.

Any recommendations for dealing with my issues would be helpful. Especially with a conditioner that doesn’t suck. That would be awesome. lol I will post about my DIY scalp exfoliant soon.

❤ Dee

 

Leave a Reply

