Solo Traveler #52: Makeup Forever Excessive Lash Mascara

16229945_10100924203312519_1322215913_oI picked up Makeup For Ever Excessive Lash as part of the Lash Party set from Sephora Favorites. I bought it at Sephora in J.C. Penny. It was a Christmas gift from Mom. This mascara retails at $25.00 ($166.67/oz). By price per ounce, this is by far the most expensive mascara I got in the set.

I have wanted to try something from this brand. The brand itself is very hyped online, although I think it is usually for their eyeshadows. I was very excited to see this product included in the Lash Party set. It scored a 19.

Excessive Lash has a smell that I can’t quite describe. It is sharp like the strong floral smells I get from many lipsticks but doesn’t smell flowery. I have to say it is a chemical smell for lack of better description. The smell did not affect my eyes so there is that though.

I like the brush a lot. I was skeptical at first. It has the bristles and tapered point I like but the bristles are short. Very short and compact. This ended up being great. It really does a good job of adding color and length, especially to my lower lash line.

This mascara starts flaking off around the 10 hour mark. Dang. Since it started breaking down, I figured removing it would be simple. Nope. It was almost as hard to remove as Smashbox’s X-Rated. I didn’t like that at all. This is one mascara that I would have really liked to have tried the Lancome Cils Booster XL mascara base to see if that helped control the flaking and make removal easier.

As much as I like the brush, I will not go out and buy this. There is very little product compared to some of these others and that clean up issue is a nightmare.

❤ Dee

2 thoughts on “Solo Traveler #52: Makeup Forever Excessive Lash Mascara

    • Yup and that was a deal breaker for me. I’ll finish up my sample but I just can’t spend that much money on something that is likely to take eyelashes with it each time I use it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

