I’m A Hair Raiser: Introduction

Happy Tuesday everyone!

I had a salon appointment Sunday for a manicure. My nail tech is also a hair stylist (and the salon manager) so we spent a lot of time talking about hair care. You might say, But Dee, you don’t care about hair stuff! And you’d be kinda right. I’m not into blow drying or flat ironing or curling my hair and I don’t even look at hair products. But it isn’t because I don’t care.

I love my hair but I kind of hate it. All my life, my hair has been baby fine and thin. It just hangs there. If I blow dry it, it looks cool for about 30 minutes and then it gets flat again. I can’t curl it for the same reason as blow drying it. And it is stick straight so why on Earth would I mess with a flat iron?! Volume is only one issue though. Since it is baby fine, it also tangles like a mother… Ergh.

As someone growing up with a hairdresser for a mother, I certainly did not luck out in the hair department. Much to her annoyance. I say that because she did my hair for me until I was 14 years old. Yeah, every morning before school, she sat me down at her vanity and picked and teased and spritzed and curled my hair for years. I’d cry because my hair was so tangled from sleeping. And every morning, by the time I got off the bus to go to class, my hair was awful. Flat and tangled again but full of product to the point that it looked dirty. Now, at 9, I didn’t really care about that. But when I got into high school, I had to say enough is enough and stopped letting her style my hair. I brushed it and left it alone. I thought that would help. It did not.

Side note here: I’ve had every hair style over the years thanks to Mom. When I was 7, I sported a mullet. Yup. At some point, I had a pageboy cut that she curled under from my bangs to the nape of my neck. And then there were the 80s soccer mom styles. I’ve had pixies and bobs and undercuts and… you name it, we’ve tried it.

When I hit puberty, I developed a new problem in addition to the thin/fine/tangled hair problem. I started having an issue with oil production. I’d wash my hair before school and it would be oily by bed time. Add the products Mom was using to that and my hair was just gross. Oily, sticky, tangled, and flat. Ugh.

We started highlighting my hair because Mom thought that would help stop the oil production. I had mousy brown hair in 7th grade. We started with very subtle blonde highlights. By the time I was a senior, I had platinum blonde hair. Which was still a God awful oily mess. And it just made the tangling issue worse! 😦

As I got into my 20s, I developed yet another issue: itching and flakes. Despite my scalp producing a metric ton of oil, I had developed dry scalp. It is not dandruff. I was able to confirm that during one of my trips to the dermatologist a couple years ago. Did you know there is a difference between dry scalp and dandruff? I had no idea.

As I’ve gotten into my 30s, I’ve been to the point that I was ready to just shave the damn stuff off. That’s because I have developed yet another hair issue. Fly away hairs that stand up on my damn head like a unicorn horn is now a thing. And I am starting to be really over my hair’s bullshit. Cue a conversation with my lovely friend at the Ulta salon and here we are today. 😀

I struggled with hair issues all my life. It is only in the last 8 months that I finally got the oil issue under control. Along with that, I was able to get a better handle on the dry scalp and itching. In my next post, I’ll talk about how I managed that miracle!

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

