I Tried a Look!

A couple days ago, one of my favorite bloggers posted a makeup look inspired by the music video for AFI’s Snow Cats. If you don’t follow Anna, go check her post here and follow her. She posts some incredible looks!

The look she created used a bold bright red wing with matching red lips with subtle eyeshadow placement. It was just stunning. I was inspired by her post to give a red eyeliner look a try myself. I am not nearly as motivated as Anna so I didn’t take step-by-step pictures. However, I did take a picture of my finished look. I will post it at the end.

I started with my eyes. I used Urban Decay Primer Potion and then set it with Golden Ochre from the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette. That ended up being a bit too yellow for my skin tone so I had to go over it with Tempera from the same palette to tone down the yellow.

I filled in my eyebrows with the ELF Brow Lift Pencil in Taupe. My brow/lash serum has done a great job of growing new brow hairs but they are mostly all blonde so that doesn’t do me a ton of good. lol I went over my brows with the Ulta Brow Tint in Medium.

Going back to my eyes, I use the same ABH eyeshadow palette and used Cyprus Umber in the outer corners and blended like crazy to get a shadowy look without much color. I used a ColourPop Super Shock Shadow in the shade Static to do the bold red eyeliner like Anna did in her post. I didn’t dare try to use liquid lipstick to do the red line. I ran the SSS across my upper lash line. However, this did not go on quite as red as I had hoped. When applying with the finger, this is a beautiful deep red shade. With a brush, it is more muted. So once I applied the SSS where I wanted it (completed with a baby wing, go me!), I went over it with a brighter red shade, Love Letter from that ABH palette.

I jumped onto my face after I finished my upper eye area. I used my ELF Color Correcting Stick (green of course) to cover a couple red spots and then used Smashbox’s Camera Ready BB Cream in light medium. I skipped primer because this stuff really doesn’t need it. However, I do like how it feels during application with a primer first. This stuff grips the skin so primer helps to move it around initially. *shrug* I used It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Illumination Anti-Aging Concealer in Neutral Medium under my eyes. It took forever to blend properly but it did a good job of making me look more awake at 5:30am.

I went over the BB cream and concealer with a very light amount of Ben Nye’s No Color Translucent Powder. I’m finally getting the hand of this powder! For blush, I used the new Ulta blush I got in Nude Pink. I did not count on just how pigmented this product would be. I spent a lot of time blending this out so I didn’t look like I had a sunburn stripe across my face! I actually had to use a bit of the Ben Nye powder to tone this down. I also used the Ulta highlighter that came with the blush in Fresh Glow.

Going back to my eyes, I ran the ColourPop SSS under my bottom lash line about 2/3 of the way in and then went back over it with the ABH eyeshadow in Love Letter. I used a brush to blend Love Letter a bit to keep it from looking too harsh compared to my top lash line. Then I went in with J.Cat Beauty Blinkle eyeshadow in Smoked Tiger Eye on my inner corner, the inner 1/3 of my lower lash line, and a touch on the inner bit of my eyelid. I used Ulta eyeliner in lace on my water line and finished my eyes with 2 coats of Ulta’s Amped Mascara in Jet Black. It isn’t the greatest mascara I’ve ever used but it does a good job of defining my lashes. I could have gone with a bit darker pigment but for this look, I think it worked okay.

For my lips, I used ColourPop’s Lippie Primer and then Estee Edit’s The Barest Contour Lip Liner in 05 In The Buff. Since getting this lip liner, it has been getting a workout. I hate that it doesn’t retract like it is supposed to but I’m making it work carefully. I used Ulta matte lipstick in the shade Petal to finish my lips.

I went back to my eyes and blended off a small amount of transfer of Love Letter from my upper eyelid. I couldn’t get it all the way blended out so I left the residue there. It was barely noticeable so oh well.

Finally, I used Ulta Setting Spray to set my finished look.

16763638_10100946491871069_1373450569_oI had to wait until I got to work to take a decent unfiltered picture with not-orange lighting. So my lipstick is a bit blotted off from 2 cups of coffee. But I’m really pleased with the look! Please don’t mind the shine in the eye closeup. My phone didn’t want to focus that close up at an angle that wasn’t overly-shiny. I tried. lol

A huge thanks to Anna for her brilliant AFI-inspired post that made me want to try a red-hued eyeliner look.

❤ Dee

6 thoughts on “I Tried a Look!

  1. Pingback: Last Week in Pictures. Life + Makeup February 12th – 19th – Bee Beauty

  2. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure
    things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions?
    Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

