In The Bag #11

Welcome to a super special ALL FREE MAKEUP edition of In The Bag! 😀

I don’t usually feature skin care on In The Bag segments but I got free makeup out of this purchase so I’m making an exception.

16804555_10100944749517759_1460458721_o

Top Row :Ulta Dual Action Cleansing Brush System ($25.00), Mario Badescue Cleansing Milk with Carnation Oil ($12.00), Aveeno Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser ($7.99), The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash travel-size ($5.00), Formula 10.0.6 Down to the Pore 6-Count Pore Strips. Bottom Row: Prada fragrance sample Candy, Chloe fragrance sample Love Story, and Ulta’s 12-piece free with purchase gift set.

A while back, I discovered I am very much over my combined 3-month makeup budget thanks to an unusual perfume purchase and some impulse purchases. I normally budget $50 per month on makeup. In January, I got an awesome bonus at work so I gave myself an extra $200! to spend on some fun things for myself. Since January 1st, I’ve spent over $450. Definitely over-budget.

What I forgot was that, while I do count nail services in my 2017 makeup savings matching, that comes out of an entirely different budget! Doh! I count nail services, brow services, and skin care purchases as part of my hygiene essentials budget. It includes face wash, antiperspirant, and toothpaste. Things that I consider to be essentials. I may wear jeans and t-shirts to work because I often work on dirty parts, but I compromise by keeping my hair and nails looking office appropriate. That is as important to me as my skin care routine. My makeup budget is more like an entertainment budget. It is fun to have but not something I must have to function.

So yay, I’m not quite as over budget as I thought I was. 😀 I’m still sitting at about $400 in makeup purchases with another $30 coming out in March for Ipsy and Morphe subscriptions. I’m not out of exile. However…

I filed my taxes like a good girl and my refund is already in the bank. I figured I would stock up on some skin care essentials while I had the spare cash. I repurchased my Mario Badescue Aloe Vera Toner ($15.00) last week because I ran out. On Sunday, I hit Ulta.com to hunt skin care stuff and realized I had $53 in Ultimate Rewards points. Score! And then I saw that Ulta.com has this year’s free with purchase makeup set out now. Even better!

I was a bit hesitant to make a large order on Ulta.com again after my last order got mixed up. However, I ordered this on Sunday. It arrived on Wednesday. And everything was exactly as I ordered. Whew.

Thanks to the free part and using my Ultimate Rewards points, I paid a grand total of $3.20 for this entire order. I am so excited to start trying these products out! So not totally free but the makeup was free and everything else was pretty much free too. I’m counting it!

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

