Solo Traveler #46: Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

16251217_10100924203327489_1978380197_oI picked up Too Faced Better than Sex as part of the Lash Party set from Sephora Favorites. I bought it at Sephora in J.C. Penny. It was a Christmas gift from Mom. This mascara retails at $23.00 ($85.19/oz).

This mascara has so much hype that I was genuinely suspicious. It has been my experience that any product that has multiple celeb/guru claims about how awesome it is and how they never leave the house without it is probably just expensively sponsored bunk. However, I’ve used this sample quite a few times and I have to say, this is not bunk. I scored it at a 22.

The applicator is a little funky and I didn’t like it at first. The bristles are the kind that I like (not the hard plastic stuff) but it is shaped like an hourglass. Someone told me it was to get a cat eye effect on the lashes. While I haven’t experience magical cat eye awesomeness, Better than Sex works just fine.

It has no smell and lasts all day. I don’t have raccoon eyes at the end of the day and I haven’t seen any flaking on my glasses or cheeks. It does well for length and definition of lashes with no visible clumping. It adds length and rich color to my lashes.

The only thing it doesn’t really do is add any thickness to my lashes. I usually only use 2 coats of mascara. I tried 3 coats with this product and I only saw a bit of added thickness. However, it started feeling heavy on my lashes with that 3rd coat so I didn’t dare add a 4th coat.

Is this product overrated? Hmm… maybe. It works, it is great for length, and it stays where it belongs. All good things. Will I buy it? No. I just can’t spent that kind of money on a mascara that doesn’t do the one thing I really want it to do.

❤ Dee

Leave a Reply

