Solo Traveler #43: Benefit They’re Real Mascara

16196329_10100924203092959_267927892_oI picked up Benefit They’re Real mascara as part of the Lash Party set from Sephora Favorites. I bought it at Sephora in J.C. Penny. It was a Christmas gift from Mom. This mascara retails at $24.00 ($80.00/oz).

I scored this mascara at 19. It wasn’t the best I’ve ever tried but it was alright.

The pros:

  1. It doesn’t smell.
  2. It lasts all day.
  3. The color payout is very dark.

The cons:

  1. The applicator. Why? It is hard plastic but the tip has a row of longer plastic bristles and the end has bristles sticking out from the tip. It is awkward and I have poked myself in the eye with those longer bristles every time I’ve used this.
  2. Some flaking starts around the 12-hour mark. It isn’t horribly noticeable, just a flake or two.
  3. Sephora.com says this mascara “curls, volumizes, lifts, and separates lashes.” I didn’t see any of the first 3. It separates well but it didn’t do any curling, volumizing, or lifting. 1 out of 4 is not good odds.

This is another mascara that I will have to pass on. I expect products to live up to their claims and this one falls flat. Plus, I hate that applicator. I wanted to love it. But I just don’t. Not recommended.

❤ Dee

2 thoughts on “Solo Traveler #43: Benefit They’re Real Mascara

    • lol Most people are a bit more graceful than I am. I have literally poked myself in the eye every time I’ve used this with that end. Being careful. Being careful. STAB. Every time. Man that hurts. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

