Adulting Today

What a long, crazy week. Nothing out of the ordinary but man I’m glad it is Saturday. I was going to sleep in but my version of sleeping in is setting an alarm for 8am and still getting up by 6:30am anyways. I’m so used to my schedule that sleeping past 7am (without NyQuil) is unusual. Everyone else was still asleep so I decided to be productive this morning. Here we are at 10am and I have accomplished the following:

  • 2 loads of laundry washed, dried, and put away
  • Dishes washed
  • Bathroom cleaned
  • Bedroom cleaned
  • Trash taken out
  • Animals let out, watered, fed, and let out again
  • Taxes filed (ugh)

Filing my taxes was a huge pain this year. I file myself using Turbo Tax. Last year, I had two w-2s, made just over the federal poverty rate in income, and my only real deductions were charitable donations to The Trevor Project and Pride. Nothing else to really sniff about. It took maybe 30 minutes to process my entire return.

This year… well that just sucked. I spent over an hour doing this because I had three w-2s (1 for 1 day, my last day, at my 2nd previous employer; 6 weeks at the temp agency for the year; and the rest of the year at my wonderful job). Because I made more money compared to last year, added health insurance, a health savings account, 401(k), sick pay, etc., this took too damn long.

Don’t get me wrong, I like filing myself because it is free. But the moment I make more than the allowed amount to qualify for free processing (currently over $33,000 so it will be a while), I will be taking my paperwork to a dang tax prep place and making my life easier (and return lighter of course).

What are you going to accomplish on this lazy, cold Saturday?

Until next time!

❤ Dee

 

Leave a Reply

