Solo Traveler #40: Lancome Cils Booster XL

This review is the start of my new posting schedule for makeup reviews. So long as I have new makeup to review, I will post those reviews on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I will likely post the other days of the week too with hauls and other makeup posts. But reviews are now on a real schedule! Yay! 😀

I picked up Lancome Cils Booster XL as part of the Lash Party set from Sephora Favorites. I bought it at Sephora in J.C. Penny. It was a Christmas gift from Mom. This is a mascara base that retails at $25.50 ($134.21/oz).

I want to preface this review with this: I did not get to review this product to its full potential. I used it twice before it went missing from my makeup collection. One of the kids took it but no one is fessing up to it and I have yet to figure out which one took it. -.- Yeah.

This product scored a 16. However, since I didn’t use it with the mascaras that I know flake, I can’t tell if it would have helped with that or not. Potentially, this product could have scored up to a 19.

Cils Booster has a slight smell but it goes away after application. It applies smooth and feels nice on my eyelashes. It isn’t heavy and it dried quickly. It goes on white, just as you would expect.

I tried this product under a mascara that I know doesn’t add thickness to my lashes, the Physicians Formula 100% Organic Wear mascara. With this mascara base, I was able to see a slight thickening of the lashes immediately. Score one for Lancome.

I would have liked to have used this product a few more times to get a good feel for it. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen and I can’t see myself spending almost $26.00 for a mascara primer. However, I did recently find out I can purchase the sample or travel size for $13.00 so I might do that to do justice to a few of my other struggling mascaras.

Leave a Reply

