6 thoughts on “Makeup Savings Account (part 2)

  1. Wow, that’s a lot to take into consideration! Personally I think I’d set 2018’s budget closer to the end of the year because I’d be able to look over how 2017 went and what my current financial situation was. I don’t think I’d count Makeup gifts for others because they’re still just gifts but I might end up counting the beauty treatments? Very complicated!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I want to agree with you 100%. However, that leaves the ticky issue of purchases made with a combination of gifts and things for me. I’ve got a Ulta cart right now full of stuff for me (yay work bonus!) but also Valentine’s Day gifts for the kids. I really don’t want to sit down and figure out what portion of the taxes go toward those gifts and what goes toward my stuff. I could estimate though. That might be ideal. That means this account won’t be 100% accurate but I really can’t quibble about saving a few more pennies here and there than I actually spent on myself. That might be the proper solution. Hmm… Thanks for the input. I am just making this stuff up as I go along. It is nice to know someone else is looking at this like I am. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

        • I’ve been mulling it over and I think I’ve figured out what I’m going to do for this situation: For combination purchases, I am not going to count the retail cost of gifts, but I’m going to put the full tax/shipping in with the total of stuff for myself. That way I don’t have to go into each receipt and figure out how much of the tax shouldn’t count. Plus, most shipping is flat rated so that would just be aggravating. I have a $180 Ulta order lined up right now (after tax) but I’m not counting around $80 of it because they are Valentine’s Day gifts. Similarly for services, if it is for myself, I’m counting it toward my savings. If it is for someone else, I am not counting it toward savings. I think that is probably the best route here.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

