Solo Traveler #36: Liquid Lipsticks

Today is Mom’s birthday! I won’t say how old she is but Happy Birthday Mom!

Liquid lipsticks are lovely for depth of color and wear-time. I enjoy them a lot. But they are not created equal.liquid-lipstick

My first liquid lipstick was from ColourPop. I picked up an Ultra Satin Lip for $6.00 ($54.55/oz) in frick n frack and my love blossomed. I ended up picking up one of their 2016 holiday colors in bijou later. I scored them at an 18.

These liquid lipsticks are amazing. The color lasts for hours, easily to lunchtime. They have a slight chemical smell but nothing noticeable. They definitely transfer color initially but if you blot and let them dry for 5 minutes or so after application, they don’t move much afterwards. The ones I have are the Ultra Satin Lip so they don’t dry completely like a matte but it is close. When used with ColourPop’s lip primer, they are the best thing ever. I own frick n frack, bijou, wink, and baraccuda in this formula. I also own viper and times square in a matte liquid lip from ColourPop that I will be reviewing at a later date.

These liquid lipsticks require a lip liner to keep the lines neat. Even then, you don’t want to use a ton of product. I usually wipe the applicator off a bit before I apply and I always start with most of the product in the middle. I rub some in the middle of my lower and then upper lip, then use what is left to line my lips at the lip liner and then fill in my lips. It is the only way I’ve found so that I don’t have a ton of goopy lipstick in the corners of my mouth. If you make a mistake, act very quickly to clean it up. The colors I have are so dark that concealer can only do so much to fix it up.

I will definitely be picking up a few more of these in 2017, maybe a few of the other formulas too.

Ulta Matte Lip Cream from Ulta.com was a huge fail. It was $9.00 ($75.00/oz). I scored it at 16 and that was generous.

So it is supposed to be matte with bold color while feeling light on the lips. It failed in every category. It is definitely never matte because it transfers to everything. The color is very ho-hum. I wouldn’t call it bold but at least it is the color it is supposed to be. It feels light on the lips so long as you use the barest amount possible, sacrificing color.

I figured out after playing with it for a week or so, the only way to get this color to work is to only cover one lip with as little product as possible and then rub your lips together to get color on the other lip and spread it out. Blot and let that layer dry completely. It takes about 5 minutes. Then, put another layer on the other lip and rub them together again. Blot and allow to dry. You won’t have bold color but at least it will stay put for a few hours. It kind of looks like a stain using this method.

I’ve kept this lipstick around because I want to try it with a better lip primer than the Ulta Lip Primer. That could be part of the problem. If it is, I will eventually rescore this lipstick.

The last liquid lipstick in my collection is a NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream that I picked up for $5.99 ($22.19) at Ulta. I have the shade stockholm. I scored it at a 16.

First of all, this lipstick smells like vanilla. It isn’t a bad smell. It was just unexpected.

While it is called a matte, it is meant to be a cross between a lipstick and a lip gloss so there isn’t much matte about it. If you let it dry long enough, you can get a stain that stays on the lips but it still transfers to everything else. It lasts through my morning coffee but definitely needs a touch up every couple of hours afterwards.

I want to try this one with the ColourPop lip primer too and see if I get better results.

I will be reviewing the Ciate Liquid Velvet, Tarte Tarteist Lip Paint, and Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks soon. Be on the lookout for those.

2 thoughts on “Solo Traveler #36: Liquid Lipsticks

Leave a Reply

