Solo Traveler #31: ColourPop and Ulta Eyeshadows

Let’s talk about some of my favorite low-end exclusive eyeshadows. These aren’t your standard drugstore eyeshadows because they are specific to their retailer but their prices put them in the drugstore category or close enough.

15817691_10100901717169929_1510229132_o.jpgUp first, ColourPop Super Shock Shadows. These are $5.00 ($71.43/oz) each. At the time of writing this post, I owned 8 different super shock shadows. I have 4 more now, bringing my collection to up 12. I get a lot of use out of these eyeshadows. I scored them at a 21.

I picked up the Zingara collection in my first colourpop.com purchase. That includes the shades jinxie, paradox, elixir, and seeker. Later, I picked up individual shades donna and static. I think both of those are part of different sets but have since been broken up into individuals. I bought catnap and puppy love, both part of ColourPop’s yearly (?) partnership with Best Friends Animal Society and NKLA to support stray animals. Of course I ordered both charity super shock shadows. If they had any kind of lip products at the time for the charity, I would have ordered those too. Let’s #SaveThemAll folks! I now have the All Nighter quad with smash, vega, to-a-t, and mooning too (not pictured).

These eyeshadows are amazing. They go on so smooth, whether you are applying them with your finger or with a brush. They blend easily and last all day long. They don’t smell and the color selection is beyond imagination.

My only complaint is the containers. This formula cannot work in a palette because the containers have to be tightly sealed or the product will dry out. Alright, that’s fine. I could totally see a deeper z-palette made for these, but maybe that will happen eventually. I just wish these things were not white containers. If you apply the shadow with your finger (which is the best way to apply it, btw), then you end up with colorful fingerprints all over the containers. I like stuff to at least look clean so that drives me crazy. I keep wet wipes nearby every time I use these shadows. Their holiday shadows came in black packaging and I like that a whole lot more.

I will be ordering more from colourpop.com this year and super shock shadows are on my list!

15784868_10100901717184899_1487509318_o.jpgI have a few Ulta eyeshadows. I’ve went back and reviewed all of them so now I have scored 3 different sets of Ulta eyeshadows.

First up, their Gilded Gold palette. It is $20.00 ($83.33/oz) and comes with 12 eyeshadows and an eyeshadow brush. I scored it at a 19.

The included eyeshadow brush is actually really good. I was happy to add it to my collection.

The shadows last about 10 hours, less if I don’t use a good eyeshadow primer. They are very powdery but they don’t smell.

This palette is a fantastic mix of matte and shimmery shades, 6 and 6. I especially like the shimmer shades in this palette. They show up very well. If a $40-50 palette makes you cringe but you want something a little better than ELF, you can’t go wrong with the range of palettes from Ulta. They also have a rose gold and a matte neutrals palette.

Up next is the Brilliant Color singles. These retail at $10.00 ($83.33/oz) each. I have 2 of them, in gold and sage. I scored these singles at a 19.

I love the containers of these eyeshadows but they can be a bit of a pain to open in the first place. They twist apart and the side that looks like it should have shadow in it is actually the cap. They have a little insert inside that is pressed into the shadow to keep it in place.

The eyeshadows are super pigmented and last for at least 10 hours. There is some fallout but the weird little press-in insert helps repress the fallout into the shadow so you don’t lose as much eyeshadow inside the pan. I ❤ that!

My main complaint? The price. For the price of the palette above (with 12 shades), I was able to get 2 of these eyeshadows. 2! Sheesh.

I will definitely be picking up more of these in 2017 despite the price because these are great eyeshadow singles. They currently have 10 shades and I am looking hard at silver and taupe for my next order.

The last Ulta eyeshadow I want to talk about doesn’t really have a name. I just called it an eyeshadow palette but it is more a mini face palette. It has 9 eyeshadows, a blush, and a highlighter in it. It came free in a gift with purchase during the summer of 2016. Since I got 2 of those sets over the summer, I kept one and Kid 1 took the other.

I have never seen this little set sold individually on Ulta.com. I don’t really know what its deal is. I mean, its cute and it works decently. The product does not smell. That is always good. The applicator is trash but the eyeshadows have decent pigmentation. The color breaks down around 8 hours but the kit is small enough to carry for touch-ups if necessary. The highlighter is very white so I haven’t used it as a face highlight. Instead, I use it for inner corners and brow bone highlight from time to time. The blush has to be built up to get color but it isn’t bad, a pinky shade that blends well.

Do you have any favorite eyeshadows that you can only get in certain places?

Leave a Reply

