Solo Traveler #19: E.L.F. HD Perfect Finish Translucent Powder

Here is a super short Solo Traveler for Stuff in a Powder Puff today. I have a very long day ahead of me today so this one was scheduled in advance. 🙂

I am behind the trend with setting powders. I don’t get their concept beyond blurring product you already have on your face. I feel like there is more to it than that.

I have the ELF HD Perfect Finish powder in translucent. It was $6.00 ($21.43/oz) at WalMart. I have a love/hate relationship with this powder. It scored a 17 on the Score Card.

I love this product because it really is translucent. I use a small amount on a fluffy brush to wipe away excess setting powder and gently blend my contour, blush, highlighter, and bronzer just before setting spray. I can’t really use it for anything else though. If I try to use it as a setting powder, I get horrible flashback in flash photos and I seem to get oily real quick. Once I’m oily, I can’t blot and then use this product for a touchup because it turns yellow at the edges of the oily spots. Lame.

Maybe I’m just not meant to use finishing powders. This one doesn’t work for anything but cleanup. The Too Faced NoFilter Selfie powders just didn’t work at all. I don’t know. Do you have a product recommendation I should try? I would really appreciate the help on this one!

Leave a Reply

