2017 Habits

Happy New Year everyone and welcome to 2017 with Stuff in a Powder Puff! ❤ I finally feel human. Sickness be gone!

New Years is always about resolutions. I don’t make resolutions. I identify habits and try to make or break them.

Habits I want to make in 2017:

  • Drinking more water. I don’t get enough. I did better in 2016 than I did in 2015 but it still isn’t enough.
  • Taking time for myself. I am a caretaker for a disabled adult and 2 needy teenagers. I put my own needs last a lot. I put off necessary doctor appointments because someone else needs me to take them instead. I don’t read at night as often as I should because I’m refereeing the kids. I play with makeup. I blog. That is about the only me time I’m getting. I am constantly being told by well-meaning others to start taking some time for myself. I’m going to do just that this year.
  • Positive affirmations. I am an upbeat person. I try to look on the bright side of any situation. However, I’m fairly negative inward toward myself on a regular basis. In 2016, I started trying to be more positive about myself to myself. While I’m doing my makeup, during my commute, when I’m taking my makeup off or going through my skin care routine, I have started talking myself up.

    I am a good person. I am a hard worker. I am appreciated at home and at work. I am a pivotal team member. I am smart. I am talented. I am wanted. I am valuable. Etc.

Habits I want to break in 2017:

  • Drinking pop (soda/Cokes if you aren’t from Ohio). Like with water in 2016, I did better with this in 2016 than I did in 2015. But I still drink way more pop than I should each week. 7-10 cans on a typical week. More if I’m really stressed out. I don’t eat much chocolate or other sweets so this fills my sweet craving instead. I know pop is horrible for the body but I still consume a lot. I need to cut back.
  • Complaining. I live a pretty stressful life. Makeup is a break from it and I don’t do a ton of complaining on here. Instead, my coworkers get the brunt of my complaining (“venting”) about my poor car, the teenage kid antics, Mom’s health, etc. I need to be more verbally positive.
  • Skipping family events. If there is an event that I can possibly skip, I usually do. If Mom feels up to driving safely, I stay home. It is the only time I get a quiet, peaceful few hours to myself outside of my commute to/from work. But I’m missing out on important things: the kids’ choir concerts, family from out of town, new babies, older family that might not be around the next time. I genuinely love my family and need to start being a bigger part of their lives.
  • Writing novels. I am a talkative person. I write just as I talk – a lot. Some of my blog posts are stupidly long, despite my best efforts to reign them in. I’ll try better this year Puffins!

Did you make any resolutions for 2017 or have a different approach like me?

Leave a Reply

