Solo Traveler #6: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Aquacealer

Let’s try this review thing again on a happier note.

I have horrible luck with concealer. I gave up finding my own concealer and consulted a lady at Sephora. She had already sold me the Tarte 12-Hour Amazonian Clay Foundation so she recommended another Tarte product: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Aquacealer Concealer in light-medium. It wasn’t listed as a color match when we did the Color IQ, but she thought it would be a good color match for the foundation I was buying.

It works so I’m happy with it. It is smooth, blends perfectly, and covers exactly what I need it to cover. The lady at Sephora was spot on about the color match (again). I’m not into that incredibly bright under eye area trend. I want my under eye to match my forehead and my chin. This product (in this color) killed it for me.

However, it is expensive for my tastes for a single-job kind of product that no one ever sees. I know that is the point of concealer but still. This product is the most expensive concealer I have tried to date but I scored it a 20 so it is all good. The little bottle may be deceiving but I think there is a good deal of product for how little I use.

Here is the biggest negative going for the Aquacealer: It smells like paint thinner. The smell fades and has never bothered my eyes but dear Lord. I do not suggest opening a bottle of this concealer in a poorly ventilated room for an extended period of time. If you have major sensitivity to smells, you might want to skip this or at least sample it before you drop $26 on it. Yikes!

The Rainforest of the Sea line seems to be growing. Have you tried any of them? What should I try next from this line?

One thought on “Solo Traveler #6: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Aquacealer

  1. Pingback: Solo Traveler #14: NYX HD Photo Concealer | Stuff in a Powder Puff

Leave a Reply

