Solo Traveler #2: ELF Matte Lip Color

I ❤ E.L.F. Cosmetics. Don’t let Solo Traveler #1 fool you, I am a die hard fan of the brand. Sometimes, things just don’t work out for different individuals.

I want to show my ❤ and gush about my favorite E.L.F. product: Matte Lip Colors.

These lipsticks are amazing. They scored a whopping 22 on the Score Card, outscoring 14 other lipsticks. They easily outscored all the other drugstore brands I’ve tried (Rimmel, L’Oreal, NYX, Wetnwild, Ulta, and Burt’s Bees) and even outscored the similar Lorac Matte Lip Pencils. I have 6 high-end lipsticks coming soon thanks to a Sephora Christmas gift to try out in 2017. But E.L.F. Matte Lip Colors will solidly ring in 2017 as my Ride or Die lip product.

They are $3 each ($60/oz). They are pencils rather than traditional lipsticks which I thought was crazy until I tried them out. And they have sharpeners in the base so you can sharpen the tip and use it as its own lip liner! Ugh! ❤ They come in 15 shades right now:

  • Dash of Pink (new)
  • Hot Commodity (new)
  • Rich Red (best seller)
  • Fuchsia (best seller)
  • Berry Sorbet
  • Cranberry
  • Wine
  • Rowdy Rouge (new)
  • Tea Rose
  • Natural
  • Nearly Nude (best seller)
  • Praline (best seller)
  • Coral (best seller)
  • Mulberry Maven (new)
  • Scarlet Night (new)

I own 7 out of 15 -Rich Red, Berry Sorbet, Wine, Tea Rose, Natural, Praline, and Mulberry Maven- and I swear by these things. I use a lip primer (always) and then use the lip color in whatever shade catches my eye that morning. In a minute or so, it dries down matte and I am good to go. It has some transfer onto my coffee cup in the morning (nothing can truly withstand a hot drink for over 2 hours) but there is no patchiness and only minimal fading on the inside of my lips by lunch. I do have a small amount of crumbles at the corners of my mouth. After lunch, I clean up my corners and reapply since whatever I eat tends to destroy lipstick. It stays on until I take my makeup off in the evening or I eat dinner, whichever comes first.

I will eventually own all 15 shades and whatever other shades that come out. Coral and Scarlet Night were sold out on the website for a long time so I hope they are still in stock the next time I do an E.L.F. order. That probably won’t be until the end of January though so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Not going to lie, I might cry if they discontinue one before I can get my hands on it!

Puffins, have you tried the E.L.F. Matte Lip Colors? What do you think about them?

 

6 thoughts on “Solo Traveler #2: ELF Matte Lip Color

    • If you want a nude pink, I would definitely start with Tea Rose. Natural and Nearly Nude don’t have much pink in them. Coral might be close to a pink nude but I haven’t swatched that one so I’m not 100% certain.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Solo Traveler #33: Matte Lip Crayons | Stuff in a Powder Puff

  2. Pingback: Solo Traveler #37: Cream Lipsticks (part 1) | Stuff in a Powder Puff

  3. Pingback: Solo Traveler #45: Bite Matte Cream Lip Crayon | Stuff in a Powder Puff

  4. Pingback: ELF, I’m Disappointed :( | Stuff in a Powder Puff

Leave a Reply

