I’m Experimenting

Good evening lovelies and welcome back to Stuff in a Powder Puff!

I finally had time this evening to research that Rimmel Lash Accelerator Serum that I got in my Ulta order this week. First off, I just want to point out that I apparently could have gotten this as a black mascara too. I didn’t even realize this. That’s what you get for making impulse purchases rather than sticking to researched purchases, Dee. I may need to go get the mascara if this is some kind of wonder serum.

According to Rimmel:

Lash Accelerator Serum with GROW-LASH Complex helps to support the natural growth of beautifully long, remarkably strong lashes.

With a unique hybrid applicator for precise application to lashes, lash line or brows!

Lash Accelerator Serum with GROW-LASH Complex:

  • Around-the-clock conditioning and fortifying gel helps to support healthy lash & brow growth.
  • Shapes, separates and sets lashes and brows into place.
  • Improves the appearance of lashes, making them look longer and fuller looking.
  • Creates fuller, re-shaped and natural-looking brows.
  • Quick-drying clear gel is lightweight and easy to remove.

The good news: No one seems to have grown an extra arm out of their eyelid using this yet. It has a 4 star rating on Ulta.com, a 3.4 star rating on Rimmel’s site, a 4.5 star rating on Walgreens.com, and a 3.6 star rating at Makeup Alley. Many of the reviews I read said they had sensitive skin and it didn’t break them out or cause rashes or hives or any of that nonsense. Not too bad.

The bad news: For about 1/4 of the reviews I read, it didn’t work at all. For 1/4 it worked on their thickening and lengthening their eyelashes but didn’t do anything for their eyebrows. For 1/4, it worked on their patchy thin eyebrows but did nothing for their eyelashes. For a magic 1/4, it worked on both eyelashes and eyebrows. It probably wasn’t 1/4 of anything but that seems about right. Also, it apparently goes on really shiny, dries up and shrinks, then flakes off. It is supposed to be able to be used under makeup but I didn’t see a single review that said it worked like that. Dang.

If you are into YouTube, I found a couple informative videos. I found Bree’s video to be the most informative in before and after looks. You can find her video here. She doesn’t have many views (or subscribers) but she did a great job with her trial and review.

I don’t need much help with eyelashes. They are decent. I have 1 eyelash that wants to grow downward and I always end up plucking that bastard. Maybe this will help. I’m definitely going to try it to help my eyebrows though. Here is a picture of my eyebrows so you know what I’m working with.

15540150_10100887320001969_1783122648_o

Please ignore the redness on my forehead and the blood spot in my left eye. My forehead is always red right there and the blood spot appeared on December 7th when I woke up that morning. It hasn’t faded in 8 days, just kind of spread a bit. :/ As you can see, I am overdue for a waxing. Don’t judge – I hate getting my eyebrows waxed. My right eyebrow is alright. The shape is fairly consistent and there is little patchiness. My left eyebrow however… It is patchy. Where my arch should be going slightly downward, I only have a few hairs covering that area right down the middle. I have a bald spot on the top and bottom there. 😡 The hair is thin throughout the entirety of my left brow. Oh and the tail is quite a bit shorter than it is supposed to be. Gah.

Rimmel says this product is safe to use twice a day but I’m not dealing with the flaking under makeup so I’m just going to use it at night if I’m wearing makeup. If I go without makeup for the day, I might try it out twice a day on those days. If I get to a drugstore in the next few days (iffy), I might try to find the mascara too. I hate giving up Perversion but if it works then awesome. Here’s to trying things out! I will come back to this in 30 days with an updated picture and you can decide if it worked at all. I am not planning on getting a wax done in the next 30 days so this works just fine. I’ll leave the tweezers in the drawer too. All for science. And beauty!

Edit: I just tried it tonight for the first time. It does not have a strong smell but it is super tacky and the wand is a huge fail already. I can’t apply it like mascara on the inner corners of my eyes because of the brush tip. So I just painted it on with the brush tip along my upper and lower lash line, attempted to put it on my eyelashes, and then brushed it into my eyebrows. It took a couple minutes to dry but once it did, it felt like I put glue in my eyebrows and eyelashes. I had to use a spoolie to break that up a bit. Uncomfortable. Maybe I used too much. 😦

Until next time Puffins!

4 thoughts on “I’m Experimenting

  1. Pingback: Compare the Wear #1 | Stuff in a Powder Puff

  2. Pingback: Still Experimenting (Post #3) | Stuff in a Powder Puff

  3. Pingback: Experimenting Post #4 | Stuff in a Powder Puff

  4. Pingback: The Experiment Is Over! | Stuff in a Powder Puff

Leave a Reply

